Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I didn't have the hominy or green chilies but it was really good. Going to make this this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing !!!!! I followed the reviews with adding extra cumin rather than the oregano, adding lime juice etc.. absolutely amazing... I'm not a soup fan but his recipe is absolutely incredible !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Loved it! Would change the oregano to cumin and add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
SO GOOD! I read a lot of the reviews and used some of the suggestions such as switching out the oregano for cumin and adding a bit of coriander. I had a half a jar of salsa verde, and one can of Rotel . I had diced tomatoes which I put in UN DRAINED. I had about 1 cup of leftover Chicken stock so I threw that in and made up the rest of the liquid with water. I didn't feel the need for the chilies because I already had the salsa and Rotel. I used B/S chicken thighs and added them WHOLE with everything into my crockpot. I didn't have any hominy. I just added an extra cup of frozen corn with the black beans. I used the amount of chili powder called for and I sautéed my onions and garlic before adding them in. It cooked all day on low, took the chicken out, shredded it and returned it to the pot. DO NOT skip the part of putting in some crushed tortilla chips. It really adds that authentic taste. This recipe is so forgiving! I was able to use up things from my fridge, pantry, and freezer and it came out Muy Bueno! INO, the crock pot allowed the flavors to meld and added to the finished dish. The chicken shredded perfectly. DO USE the extras! Sour cream, shredded cheese, avocado, etc add to the authenticity. I would put this up against a restaurant any day! Thank you, Star Pooley for such a great, FORGIVING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I found this soup to be very thick, I added about a cup more water than it calls for, and still didn't have as much broth as we would have liked. I would suggest to add somewhere around 2 cans, and then rinse out the cans and put the water from that in as well. I halved the recipe, but still used two chicken breasts, but that still came out to less than a pound of chicken. I was surprised how flavorful this was, while only having chili powder and oregano as seasonings. I also used slightly more green chilies that this calls for, I was supposed to use half the can and accidentally poured the whole thing in, I took out all I could of the "pure" peppers, but it was still slightly more. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Tried this tonight and it was delicious. I did not make any changes as I like to try a recipe as written for the first time even though some of the reviewer changes sounded good. One thing I found at the grocery store was crushed tomatoes with Mexican seasoning which I may try the next time and I might also put in a jalapeno while it is cooking for a little more spice. Would not be disappointed if I ordered tortilla soup at a restaurant and it tasted like this recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I used cooked rotisserie chicken pieces (Costco) and it made this recipe SUPER fast and easy. Threw it all in the crockpot on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This recipe is very forgiving but only one warning: it's spicy! I did not use chili peppers, just chili powder. Two teaspoons was too much! We are used to spicy Indian and Thai food, (we are a Mixed Race family) but this was too hot. Maybe cut down to 1 tsp. I used diced tomatoes and no hominy. I doubled the beans and added the tortilla chips right before serving. It was yummy but cleared our sinuses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. Not bad, but not great. The base was too tomatoey for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't make the recipe as written after reading many reviews. I made some changes, and the soup is wonderful! Everyone in my family said it was really good - and that's a victory! Here are the changes: 1) used two cans condensed chicken broth, plus the juice from the baked chicken 2) did NOT add water 3) replaced oregano with 1 tsp. cumin 4) used only 1/2 tsp. chili powder 5) used one 14 oz. can diced tomatoes and one 10 oz can Rotel Mexican LIme & Cilantro - pureed in blender 6) Did not use hominy - didnt miss it 7) Added lime juice - didnt measure, but it was about 1 -1.5 tsp 8) Added about 1/2 cup plain yogurt at the very end - then let it simmer about 1.5 hours. Do NOT allow soup to boil once yogurt is added. This was so good - i will be making this again, very soon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States