Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by alsewell
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Really good but a bit too spicy for my family. We used a small can of mild ROTEL tomatoes and chiles. Next time I would just use diced tomatoes! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Really spicy but oh so good! Family really enjoyed it. They want to try it with shredded chicken the next time. I don't eat cheese so on my bowl I put a dollop of sour cream. The kids also put some crunched up tortilla chips on top. This is definitely a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I added about a cup of black beans I had just cooked. Make the stock from a rotisserie chicken I had just taken the meat off of. SOOOOO delish with that stock and the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My boyfriend made this for dinner tonight. The recipe turned out really well he added a can a white beans which helped it a lot, rather than adding a Mexican cheese blend we added Mexican cream which really made a huge difference and made it more versatile. If you can't find Mexican cream; sour cream would work really well too. I then put pepper jack on top of that because I love cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was very good and easy! A great week night meal that my kids even loved! I cooked the chicken first in taco seasoning then shredded. I did everything else according to the recipe and yummy! I will for sure make this again but I will probably add a can of black beans for some more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I converted this recipe into a crock pot dinner that worked out great! I boiled 2 chicken breasts (whole) until cooked (just a few minutes) and then added them to everything else in the pot, minus the cornstarch mixture and the toppings. Then, it all simmered merrily all day long. Later, I shredded the chicken with a fork and added the cornstarch mixture, turning the temperature from low to high for the soup to thicken. I served it with shredded cheese and cilantro, like it suggests, but also offered Greek yogurt which, when stirred in, makes the soup nice and creamy. I normally do a lot of complex cooking, but we have a new baby (!) so this recipe of can-dumping simplicity was PERFECT for a busy weeknight dinner. Everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks!! Oh, P.S.--I also dumped in a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was really easy to make. Served with Tostitos and the shredded cheese. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious soup and easy to make! I only used 2 1/2 lbs of chicken and it was still a little too much, so next time I'll try just 2 lbs. I like it a little more brothy so I only added about 1/4 the thickening the recipe calls for. The spice was perfect for my family...since I like it a little spicier, I added a couple of shakes of a hot sauce. I will be making this often for my family, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good, healthy. I used homemade chicken broth and cooked chicken. Instead of a package of taco seasoning, I sprinkled a little sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cumin and oregano over the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
So so easy and wonderful! Spoon over chips, add avocado and sour cream and I am in love :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States