Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I make this in the crockpot about once a month. I use organic chicken broth and homemade taco seasoning. This can be easily made to stretch by throwing in a drained/rinsed can of corn and a drained/rinsed can of black beans. I like to top it with deep fried tortilla chips and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good, healthy. I used homemade chicken broth and cooked chicken. Instead of a package of taco seasoning, I sprinkled a little sea salt, black pepper, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cumin and oregano over the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was the easiest but tastiest soup ever! I broke up tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl and spooned the soup over it. Added a blend of Mexican shredded cheese, and used my favorite green Tabasco sauce. I like it spicy! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We liked it. I added a can of black beans to make it more filling, used more chicken because we needed more meat for our family, used Ro-tel which comes in 10 oz cans so I used two of them...etc. Little changes. I don't see why anyone would not like this if they like the ingredients. You can switch up the ingredients, add some extras, etc. and have a tasty, cost-effective meal on the table in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I converted this recipe into a crock pot dinner that worked out great! I boiled 2 chicken breasts (whole) until cooked (just a few minutes) and then added them to everything else in the pot, minus the cornstarch mixture and the toppings. Then, it all simmered merrily all day long. Later, I shredded the chicken with a fork and added the cornstarch mixture, turning the temperature from low to high for the soup to thicken. I served it with shredded cheese and cilantro, like it suggests, but also offered Greek yogurt which, when stirred in, makes the soup nice and creamy. I normally do a lot of complex cooking, but we have a new baby (!) so this recipe of can-dumping simplicity was PERFECT for a busy weeknight dinner. Everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks!! Oh, P.S.--I also dumped in a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Really spicy but oh so good! Family really enjoyed it. They want to try it with shredded chicken the next time. I don't eat cheese so on my bowl I put a dollop of sour cream. The kids also put some crunched up tortilla chips on top. This is definitely a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
YUMMY YUM YUMMY! my kids and husband LOVED this... my kids used tostios scoops instead of spoons and my husband added a shredded flour tortilla to his.... we have decide that during the winter we will have this soup one a week..... However I added Veggies to mine, such as Corn and black beans, and did not put in the green chilli's.... thanks so much for sharing the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! As did the rest of my family! The only thing I added was a can of southwestern corn and Heavy whipping cream, but other then that it is delicious just the way it is! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
pretty good, but will probably add my own spin next time. (Enchilada sauce in the soup base, grilled corn, and make it a bit thicker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_wx_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BrendaIvette71
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made this today. Everyone Loved It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaIvette71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States