Chicken Tortilla Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Made this for the beau and I last night and it was delicious! I made a few modifications though: cooked in olive oil, used 1 medium white onion, added green bell peppers, no basil or oregano, used crushed red pepper and red pepper flakes, Pace medium salsa, 2 cups of Rotel sauce (found near Rotel tomatoes), Colby/Monterrey jack cheese, and flour tortillas. I also only baked for about 40 minutes. Added black olives on top. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I too added more chicken didn't cook it in butter, 1 onion, added tomatos and chilis vs jalapeno's. spagetti sauce with roasted red pepper (Neuman's) no tomato sauce or salsa. I used what shredded Sargento cheese I had in the fridge which consisted of colby-jack, taco, and pepper jack. Not sure I had 32 oz all together but it was more than plenty amount of cheese. I too used flour tortilla's because that's what I had. Awesome taste, perhaps I could have added mexicorn if I wanted the corn taste in the dish and may try that next time. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this (almost) exactly as stated and it turned out really delicious. The only thing I changed was to replace half of the mozzarella with cheddar since I only had 8 oz of mozzarella. My only complaint is that some of the ratios seemed off. Next time, I will use more chicken, less sauce, and less cheese. But the taste was fantastic. I highly recommend using the corn tortillas because they had a great flavor and texture after cooking for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Definitely a family favorite now. Great as leftovers the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Used 1 large onion, 4 cloves of garlic, fresh basil and oregano, didnt have jalepenos, but used an array of hot peppers that I had in the fridge, didnt have fresh salsa, so I made my own using tomatoes and red,orange, and yellow peppers. Added red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. This was fantastic, my parents LOVED it. I used up the rest of my tortillas using this and my parents suggested and I agreed that the chicken sauce mix can totally be made by itself and made with pasta, potatoes, any kind of side dish. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Started with uncooked chicken breasts, sliced. Sauteed them in oil and butter with onions, green pepper, jalapenos for about 20 minutes. Cut up chicken smaller while cooking with spatula. I only used Pace Medium Picante salsa, no tomato sauces. Transfer into casserole, making layers with tortillas and cheese as recipe states. Bake about 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALEPRICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious dish. Only needed 1 onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellyDancer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
We Only used one Onion, and instead of the Tomato and Basil Sauce we used the four cheese. The Wife and Kiddo Loved it and want me to make it again. Now if I could only find a low fat version for myself, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I really do love the idea of chicken tortilla lasagna, but I thought this was one of those recipes that is better without all of the extra ingredients. I also thought there were some ingredients that didn't stay true to the authentic Mexican taste I was looking for. Without the moz cheese, tomato sauce, and basil I would have given this recipe 5 stars. Also I changed the peppers to green peppers, cooked the chicken in olive oil onion and garlic powder, added Monterrey jack cheese, made the salsa chunky so I didn't need as many onions as called for and used flour tortillas instead of corn just because I like the smoothness of flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States