Chicken Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
very good. I halved the recipe and used one can of cheese (campbells) instead of cream of mushroom/chicken. I used sour cream mixed with broth instead of milk, mixed the salsa in with the cooked chicken, and added green chiles to the cheese sauce. Topped with olives per the pic. Would make again, maybe with a dash of cumin and paprika in with the chicken. My son ate it up and asked for seconds! Husband had thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This would be so much better as a dip rather than a meal (just omit the tortillas). We all ate it, but wasn't our favorite. The consistency was good, not runny and I used corn tortilla strips. Just WAAAAY too long of a process for what you get out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen64
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My family liked this. I made it with an extra can of cream of chicken soup instead of the milk because I was afraid it would be too soupy per other reviews. Next time I will use the milk as it was a bit too salty. I cooked the chicken with taco seasoning as per other reviews, which also contributed to the saltiness. I will also try home-made taco seasoning next time, with less salt. I only let this sit for an hour before baking and the tortillas soaked up the liquid and swelled up for a nice enchilida casserole consistency. Very easy to make. Later: Just had this for lunch at work. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Original reciepe SOUPY!! Watch out!! Really need to reduce the liquid! I would do it almost in half. Or add more tortillas. Otherwise very flavorful and a for sure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was pretty good! I did make couple changes. I too used sour cream instead of milk, added a little taco seasoning I had made from scratch, used nacho cheese Doritos instead of corn toritillas, and left out the onions. Good stuff! Hubby loved it! Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this for a group on a camping trip it was ahit everybody loved it.. will make it again soon I used rotel with chilis and I used Dorito chips. I read the reviews they helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I have made this several times. I found it good to do an 10 oz jar of salsa and an 8 oz jar of the Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chillis. I also added more tortilla shells and added a jalapeno and a poblano. It made it spicy, but really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
To make this recipe easier, and with a burst of flavor, I offer the following suggestion... Mix all of your ingredients together in a bowl before layering w/ tortillas. This will also keep your chicken from drying out. I use a can of diced green chillis and a can of rotel (you can choose your level of heat) instead of chicken stock - Rotel has liquid in it if undrained :). Mix your soups, chillis, and rotel together in the bowl, then stir in your chicken. Start by layering your tortillas on the bottom of the pan (I use doritoes), then layer with soup/chicken mix, then cheese (I use lots of cheese!). Depending on the size of your pan, you may only have one layer of each element, or if a smaller pan you can do two smaller layers of each. Also, remember to salt and pepper your chicken a little. I have been making this recipe for years and my family LOVES it. By using rotel and doritoes you are really kicking up the flavor in an easy way. If you are wanting to make it healthier, just use the corn tortillas and the light versions of the ingredients listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
didn't realize I'd need to refrigerate it for 24 hours so I cooked it the same night, it was still good! Took another reviewer's suggestion and added cheese after each tortilla layer and served with some sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States