Chicken Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was really excited to make this. I followed the directions exactly and mine came out very runny? I like the idea of changing the milk for sour cream to "thicken" it a bit. And also, either not using the salsa or using less of it? 16 oz of it seemed to be too much. And use more corn tortillas! 9 didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Chicken Tortilla Casserole Haiku: "Wants to be 'King Ranch', but falls short in several ways. Soggy, not so great." Not sure why it had to sit in the fridge assembled for 24 hrs. but I followed the recipe except using a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of a jar of salsa. It feels like a recipe that's similar to a King Ranch Casserole, which is why so many people say in their reviews that they added green chiles, I suppose. Anyways, the end result was fairly tasty but slippery and watery (would've preferred broken-up tortilla chips on top or something other than the layers of corn tortilla strips), so unfortunately we didn't eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
very good. I halved the recipe and used one can of cheese (campbells) instead of cream of mushroom/chicken. I used sour cream mixed with broth instead of milk, mixed the salsa in with the cooked chicken, and added green chiles to the cheese sauce. Topped with olives per the pic. Would make again, maybe with a dash of cumin and paprika in with the chicken. My son ate it up and asked for seconds! Husband had thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This would be so much better as a dip rather than a meal (just omit the tortillas). We all ate it, but wasn't our favorite. The consistency was good, not runny and I used corn tortilla strips. Just WAAAAY too long of a process for what you get out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen64
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My family liked this. I made it with an extra can of cream of chicken soup instead of the milk because I was afraid it would be too soupy per other reviews. Next time I will use the milk as it was a bit too salty. I cooked the chicken with taco seasoning as per other reviews, which also contributed to the saltiness. I will also try home-made taco seasoning next time, with less salt. I only let this sit for an hour before baking and the tortillas soaked up the liquid and swelled up for a nice enchilida casserole consistency. Very easy to make. Later: Just had this for lunch at work. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Original reciepe SOUPY!! Watch out!! Really need to reduce the liquid! I would do it almost in half. Or add more tortillas. Otherwise very flavorful and a for sure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was pretty good! I did make couple changes. I too used sour cream instead of milk, added a little taco seasoning I had made from scratch, used nacho cheese Doritos instead of corn toritillas, and left out the onions. Good stuff! Hubby loved it! Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this for a group on a camping trip it was ahit everybody loved it.. will make it again soon I used rotel with chilis and I used Dorito chips. I read the reviews they helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I have made this several times. I found it good to do an 10 oz jar of salsa and an 8 oz jar of the Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chillis. I also added more tortilla shells and added a jalapeno and a poblano. It made it spicy, but really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States