Chicken Tortellini Soup With Zucchini and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I altered the recipe slightly to our liking and added carrots, onions and celery along with the tomatoes instead of the zucchini but I'm sure that would have been wonderful too. I was hesitant about the tomatoes but they a nice comforting, yet refreshing taste to the soup. For the stock I got a lemon/pepper/garlic rotisserie chicken and it complemented the flavors splendidly. I also used dried spinach/cheese tortellini instead of using fresh ones since they didn't have the smaller size and it was great! This is definitely a recipe I will keep on hand for those cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I had some tortellini in the freezer that I wanted to use when I found this recipe, but didn't get the urge to make it until my husband got sick. It was time consuming but still relatively easy to make and delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly but left out the celery because I forgot to pick some up at the market. I've added it to my recipe box and look forward to making it regularly :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KChristy927

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Absolutely awesome! I got rave reviews for this one. I had to add a 16 oz can of chicken broth because there didn't seem to be enough liquid when the soup was all done, and I added a liberal amount of poultry seasoning, as I've found that it makes pretty much any soup with a chicken broth base taste richer and more flavorful. It came out perfectly! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yummy and easy. I did use the chicken broth from a can and put in chunks of chicken from the deli cooked chickens. Also, I used fresh cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for a friend of mine that was sick, and we both really liked it. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very simple and delicious. I use different flavored tortellini sometimes, and I almost always use a good quality vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Delicious. I didn't add chicken and used veggie broth with a veggie cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
ADD ROSEMARY! I am not sure exactly how much I added - a couple of pinches - but it made all the difference. I also added a couple of bay leaves. I used 2 cans of (undrained) diced tomatoes instead of 1 and way more tortellini than the recipe called for. (I had a 32 oz bag and used nearly all of them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deidremae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was great!! I agree with another reviewer in that I do not think it was "quick" to prepare. For anyone else who might have been confused, you need to make the entire chicken base recipe for the tortellini soup and the entire recipes makes A LOT. Don't get me wrong - the final product is incredible and tastes very good. There's just a lot of it. I ended up freezing half of it. The next time I make this, I think I might make the chicken soup base, divide it into 1/3 packages and freeze 2/3 of the soup. That way I can adjust the tortellini soup recipe to 1/3 of the chicken soup base and stil have more chicken soup bases to try with other variations. Someone mentioned a Black Bean Chicken Soup that I would love to try. All in all - a very good recipe especially on a cold day. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I really like this, however I started with just a huge can of chicken broth as I didn't have time to make the soup base. I had to add more seasonings, but that was to be expected. Next time, I will try the recipe exactly as was intended, but I really like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wargo

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States