Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I feel like I've made this shout a hundred times already!I always use papaya,eggplant,bok choy,and spinach because I love a variety of veggies and thats what some Filipino restaurants put as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
i love tinola. so easy to cook and VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I use three chayote squashes and usually a box + a can of chicken broth (or sometimes I use 3 cans instead). I haven't used spinach before but baby bok choy or regular bok choy both make this delicious. I use a bit extra on the ginger and 1 large onion to make sure it's fragrant. No need for salt if you're using regular chicken broth. Easy, quick and wholesome! I love cooking from whole foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Light soup. I usually use the liquid of washed rice and blanched pepper leaves which is abundant in my garden during summer. Frozen pepper leaves can also be found in some Asian stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great meal, all in one plate. Packed with very nutritious items: garlic, squash, bok choy, spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaman Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tinolang Manok is an awesome meal for a nice cold fall/winter day. I've made this numerous times and its delicious everytime, though using a different recipe (slight differences). I have never heard of it being made it with Bok Choy though, might just have to try that! I always use unripe papaya in my Tinola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mapanggulo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a Filipino recipe that I grew up with without the spinach.We like to use green papaya and bokchoy.Also chile leaves.Fish sauce just makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I washed the spinach in cold saltwater. This removes the unique bitterness of spinach. But nothing beats pepper leaves so use 'em if you can get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Fresh moringa leaves beat out bokchoy and spinach nutrition wise. This is always a go to when the kids come down with something. Delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this many times before but I didn't use chicken broth, just plain water and I simmered it for an hour to give the soup flavour. I've also never used bok choy but I did use pepper leaves which gives it a nice peppery flavour. I will be making this for my mother who has been making this for over 50 years now. She's also in the past used papaya if she couldn't find chayote. Can't wait to here her critique!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States