Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
i love tinola. so easy to cook and VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We liked this, but felt it was missing a little something. Perhaps some sort of extra seasoning as it was a little bland. The only changes we made were to use peanut oil, minced ginger from a jar (1.5 teaspoons), zucchini instead of chayote as we could not find any and soy instead of fish sauce. We forgot to brown the chicken and just tossed everything together was the onion/garlic/ginger were done sauteing. I think browning the chicken is crucial in adding additional flavour to this soup-type dish. We served it with rice, and liked it very much. Easy, and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Perfect! Except for the extra spinach. You can do without it. The spinach sort of overrides the tinola flavor. Stick with bok choy. Also you can substitute green papaya for the chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I use three chayote squashes and usually a box + a can of chicken broth (or sometimes I use 3 cans instead). I haven't used spinach before but baby bok choy or regular bok choy both make this delicious. I use a bit extra on the ginger and 1 large onion to make sure it's fragrant. No need for salt if you're using regular chicken broth. Easy, quick and wholesome! I love cooking from whole foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Light soup. I usually use the liquid of washed rice and blanched pepper leaves which is abundant in my garden during summer. Frozen pepper leaves can also be found in some Asian stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this for a filipina friend of mine & she commented that it tasted good but the spinach was not something she grew up using. It was too strong a taste. Try pepper/sili leaves. She also makes this with/without the squash. It's not crucial if you just want soup now. What makes this dish distinct is the ginger , onion, & fish sauce(patis). I buy it in the asian market. Without this trifecta, you DO NOT have Tinola. Soy is not a substitution at all. Soy is a plant based product. Patis is animal based and although both are salty, soy is not multilayered in taste like patis. Maybe this is why some of you find it lacking depth when you use soy as a substitution. It's like saying a veggie burger tastes like dry aged prime rib steak. The secret of this broth is Patis. There are no substitutions unfortunately. I've had this made for me, where you dump it all into a pot to stew for a couple of hours & it tastes great. I don't even brown it. You can even substitute beef(don't brown it) for chicken, so my filipina friend tells me. I've had it & it tastes great. Btw I don't use chicken broth. I use water & season to taste(with more patis if necessary, never with more salt which is one dimensional) when the meat's done. You are essentially making a stock from scratch. It keeps the broth rich, the meat tender but the soup delicate. It's supposed to be delicate tasting but NOT bland. On a historical note, patis is the closest modern substitution for the ancient roman ingredient "garum".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howth, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I feel like I've made this shout a hundred times already!I always use papaya,eggplant,bok choy,and spinach because I love a variety of veggies and thats what some Filipino restaurants put as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great meal, all in one plate. Packed with very nutritious items: garlic, squash, bok choy, spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaman Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tinolang Manok is an awesome meal for a nice cold fall/winter day. I've made this numerous times and its delicious everytime, though using a different recipe (slight differences). I have never heard of it being made it with Bok Choy though, might just have to try that! I always use unripe papaya in my Tinola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mapanggulo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Pepper leaves are great if you have it. For additional flavor we add a few whole peppercorns and saute in the beginning. Great with fresh cooked white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States