Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
try add lemon grass when making the soup of tinola....taste & smell really yummy + green papaya & some chili leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this many times before but I didn't use chicken broth, just plain water and I simmered it for an hour to give the soup flavour. I've also never used bok choy but I did use pepper leaves which gives it a nice peppery flavour. I will be making this for my mother who has been making this for over 50 years now. She's also in the past used papaya if she couldn't find chayote. Can't wait to here her critique!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty. Didn't use spinach or squash. Would be better with boneless chicken breast or beef I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Definitely can be more nutritious with moringa leaves instead of bok Choy. I sometimes add carrots for color, in addition to chayote &/ or zuchinni. Love my vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a very good Filipino meal-in-a-pot dish. The main ingredient garlic, onion, ginger and fish sauce (patis) are the ones making this dish flavorful. I usually add lemon grass (tanglad) and a dash of ground pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Fresh moringa leaves beat out bokchoy and spinach nutrition wise. This is always a go to when the kids come down with something. Delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I washed the spinach in cold saltwater. This removes the unique bitterness of spinach. But nothing beats pepper leaves so use 'em if you can get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe is the same as how I cook tinola. It shouldn't taste bland. You just have to balance the ginger and fish sauce and broth. I would, however, sauté the ginger in garlic, onion and one small tomato. I also sometimes substitute potatoes to chayote, and cabbage to the spinach. Tastes just as great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a Filipino recipe that I grew up with without the spinach.We like to use green papaya and bokchoy.Also chile leaves.Fish sauce just makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Pepper leaves are great if you have it. For additional flavor we add a few whole peppercorns and saute in the beginning. Great with fresh cooked white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States