Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Definitely can be more nutritious with moringa leaves instead of bok Choy. I sometimes add carrots for color, in addition to chayote &/ or zuchinni. Love my vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a very good Filipino meal-in-a-pot dish. The main ingredient garlic, onion, ginger and fish sauce (patis) are the ones making this dish flavorful. I usually add lemon grass (tanglad) and a dash of ground pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Fresh moringa leaves beat out bokchoy and spinach nutrition wise. This is always a go to when the kids come down with something. Delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I washed the spinach in cold saltwater. This removes the unique bitterness of spinach. But nothing beats pepper leaves so use 'em if you can get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe is the same as how I cook tinola. It shouldn't taste bland. You just have to balance the ginger and fish sauce and broth. I would, however, sauté the ginger in garlic, onion and one small tomato. I also sometimes substitute potatoes to chayote, and cabbage to the spinach. Tastes just as great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a Filipino recipe that I grew up with without the spinach.We like to use green papaya and bokchoy.Also chile leaves.Fish sauce just makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Pepper leaves are great if you have it. For additional flavor we add a few whole peppercorns and saute in the beginning. Great with fresh cooked white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tinolang Manok is an awesome meal for a nice cold fall/winter day. I've made this numerous times and its delicious everytime, though using a different recipe (slight differences). I have never heard of it being made it with Bok Choy though, might just have to try that! I always use unripe papaya in my Tinola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mapanggulo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great meal, all in one plate. Packed with very nutritious items: garlic, squash, bok choy, spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaman Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I feel like I've made this shout a hundred times already!I always use papaya,eggplant,bok choy,and spinach because I love a variety of veggies and thats what some Filipino restaurants put as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States