Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
if you can find chili leaves at all, please do. It will make this dish divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Taste like the authentic Filipino dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! The grocery was out of fish sauce, so we made do with oyster sauce instead. Lots of flavor, healthy, and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have never had it this way. But, it does sound really yummy!! This is my goto comfort food along with a side of sticky rice! I think I am going to make this next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love this recipe, we have been looking for more fish recipes so made this with Cod instead of Chicken. Make base recipe, then steam/poach cod fillets on top of the recipe - delicious. Can substitute butternut squash or pumpkin or sweet potato for the chayote squash, and vegetable stock for the chicken broth for pescetarian version. To brighten flavor, add a bit of hot sauce or sri racha. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
try add lemon grass when making the soup of tinola....taste & smell really yummy + green papaya & some chili leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this many times before but I didn't use chicken broth, just plain water and I simmered it for an hour to give the soup flavour. I've also never used bok choy but I did use pepper leaves which gives it a nice peppery flavour. I will be making this for my mother who has been making this for over 50 years now. She's also in the past used papaya if she couldn't find chayote. Can't wait to here her critique!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty. Didn't use spinach or squash. Would be better with boneless chicken breast or beef I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Definitely can be more nutritious with moringa leaves instead of bok Choy. I sometimes add carrots for color, in addition to chayote &/ or zuchinni. Love my vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a very good Filipino meal-in-a-pot dish. The main ingredient garlic, onion, ginger and fish sauce (patis) are the ones making this dish flavorful. I usually add lemon grass (tanglad) and a dash of ground pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States