Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This did indeed take the 2.5 hours, but everyone said it was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I didn't go through making the sauce, just the chicken and served it with salad and wheat flatbreatd. Extremely delicious! I did add 2 red chilies finely chopped to the marinade which added some great heat. One thing I must say, I didn't bother adding salt and it really was fine. I like salt in my food but left it out to add later and honestly I didn't find it needing any. So I would suggest you not use as much 4tsp seems like a lot. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe has too much salt in it. It is very good however without the salt. Just add a dash or two. And I would double the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome recipe, but the salt is TOTALLY off, I would use 1/4 of the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noggar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Simply the best chicken...ANYTHING I've ever tried. It literally left me speechless. The only flaw, and I mean the ONLY flaw, is its portion! What you see in my attached picture is ALL of the food created! It seems any Indian food I make tastes amazing, yet comes in Weight-Watchers portion sizes...which is an insult to my empty belly. Also the cost is a bit pricey: Three chicken breast alone cost me about $9.00, and never mind the cost of the Heavy Cream. This means anyone eating on a budget should probably find something a bit cheaper and less time-consuming. However for you lucky few who is willing to put the time and effort into making this meal, you're in for some of the best chicken Indian food imaginable. The sauce was so good, I dipped bread in it just so I could consume it all! The only changes I made to this recipe was I used 2 tsp of salt in step 1, and completely omitted all salt from step 4 (I added a pinch or two while serving until it met my desired taste). Because I was cooking for my grandmother who is spice-sensitive, I cut the amount of cumin and cayenne pepper by half a tablespoon. I also didn't put any jalapeno pepper in it at all. Regardless of these changes, it was still incredible. I will make this for friends and my current girlfriend when we get into an argument, but otherwise I might try a more time-efficient, budget-friendly option. I can assure you, however, that whatever it'll be...it won't taste nearly as good as this meal did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Made this for the first time for dinner last night. While I enjoy Indian food, I've never made it and was unsure how my family would like it. I followed the suggestions and reduced the salt, added garam masala and doubled up on the sauce. I also used coconut milk instead of heavy cream. The key for me with the sauce was to taste it at every stage to make sure the spice blend was what I wanted. This was delicious. I was looking forward to leftovers for lunch today but there was nothing left. Another plus in my book: we'll be able to enjoy it often since I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe has the potential to be awesome, but the amount of salt is ridiculous. I did the recipe verbatim the first time (I always do), but I am going to try it again with 1/3 - 1/2 the amount of salt next time. The recipe is definitely a keeper, once the right amount of salt is figured out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
With one minor adjustment to salt, this recipe is fantastic. Use 1/2 TSP of salt everywhere it's called for in the recipe, and it becomes far more balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was fabulous! I did make the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I only added a 1/2 tsp of salt to the entire dish. Doubled the recipe for the sauce and added 2 tsp of garam masala to the sauce which really is KEY! Skipped the skewers and just grilled the chicken cubes in a cast iron skillet on top of the stove. Served over brown basamati rice. Amazing! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This turned out wonderfully delicious!! Since I've never had it before, I don't know how it should actually taste. Hence, the four stars. I also cut back some of the salt. This is a very rich dish; I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States