Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and I don't have access to grill, so I skewer the chicken and roast it in the oven elevated over a casserole dish. While the salt (7 teaspoons) is definitely excessive, I wouldn't omit it entirely. Instead I would go for 2-3 teaspoons in the marinade only. Salt helps draw moisture out of the chicken and brings more balance to the flavors in the marinade. During the simmering stages the salt will become distributed in the sauce as well, adding more flavor. Salt definitely helps with the texture of this dish, which I didn't appreciate until I tried to follow others suggestions and not use it at all, which was a big mistake. Overall excellent recipe. Better than many restaurants and lots cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree. WAY too salty. Going to try 1/6th of the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpalmertree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Have made this recipe many many times! Always reduce the salt as others have said. For easier cooking I put the chicken with ALL the marinade on a baking sheet and broil in the oven, turning once until the chicken is cooked. Then I put everything into the sauce so none of the marinade flavours are lost and it is amazing! I rarely find a restaurant version that can compete with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was tasty but it contained way too much salt, and I even omitted a couple tsp. Next time I make it I will cut the salt at least by half. Once I got past the saltiness, the flavors were a lovely mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Mazur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kate
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Wowza this was so yummy! I took the other reviewers advice and added LESS SALT! I will add even LESS salt next time around, probably none at all in the sauce at the end. Other than that, Amazeballs! IT is my bfriend's favorite dish and he's lived in the UK for many years, so hard act to follow, but he loved it except for the extra salty factor. He said "it's better than any tikka I have had here in America" ;) So next time it will be better than, or as good as he's ever had Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Really great Indian taste. We were so pleased with how it came out. We did not use the skewers to cook the meat - unnecessary. Also, we added turmeric (because of all the health benefits) and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daryl Kulak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeamJenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great recipe! This is my husband's favorite dish at restaurants. I am so thrilled that I have found another Team Jenkins favorite on this site. I cannot wait to cook it for friends and family. I plated it with sautéed onions on top of a bed of jasmine rice. Thank you, Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamJenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Absolutely loved the marinade and will use it again and again. Only added 1 tsp of salt instead of 4. Reduced the cayenne considerably and threw in some garam masala, too. The sauce was flavorful, but nixed the 3 tsp of salt here. Maybe 1/2 tsp used? 7 tsp of salt for the whole dish is too much in my opinion! I like my blood pressure where it is! Overall, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
CRAZY SALTY! I put in less than half what the recipe stipulated but it was still too much. Plenty of heat, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I greatly reduced the salt and left out the jalapenos. It was great, even my kids loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lipan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States