Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i followed everything except i did the salt to taste and added a bit more garlic and cream just to cut some of the tomato sauce . also i didn't use the jalapeño but y did have hot cayenne. its was awesome and tasted exactly like restaurant style. served with jasmine rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Very good, I cut out the jalapeno and cut the cayenne pepper in half, I thought it wasn't spicy, my girlfriend found it a tad too spicy, but she doesn't like spicy, so I may cut that in half a second time. This is WAY TOO SALTY! Cut the salt in half, that will be what I do the next time. Also if you don't have a grill, cook the chicken in a separate pan for 5-7 minutes, drain any extra juices and marinade and then add it to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Wow!!! This recipe is absolutely terrific! I was literally licking the spoon and pit so I didn't waste any last bit ? I did make modifications based upon the reviews - I used 1 tsp of salt and traded the cinnamon for 1 tsp of garam masala in the marinade. I did the same in the sauce and the results were spectacular. This may have been the best meal I've ever cooked!!! Thanks for helping make me look like an all-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I toned down the spicy seasonings and eliminated the salt almost completely. It was delicious! The only mistake I made was making white rice instead of basmati rice. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious! 1) used coconut milk instead of cream; 2) no jalapeno 3) always doubled up recipe because we enjoy it so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian Littles Ortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I really liked the spice that the jalepeno peppers added. I felt that the spices weren't quite right and added some garam masala which helped to bring a lot more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My husband and I tried this recipe and really enjoyed it! We tried it exactly how the recipe was written (with the exception of halving the salt) and next time we will modify to reduce the heat a bit for my sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I use less than 1/4 the salt and pepper per recipe. Grilling the chicken per spec is phenom. I don't sub milk for cream. The heavy cream is mandatory for the sauce but I try to go light when possible so in this instance the texture suffered. I shoulda stirred in a little plain yogurt but I also added a lil more fresh ginger purée in sauce. Yum. Just the chicken marinated & grilled on skewers was The Hit! Serve with basmati rice & stir in the freshly chopped cilantro into rice while it's hot. Do a nice tiziki cucumber salad on the side. You'll like the cool fresh soothing side especially if you go heavy on the heat like I do. As always, keep some Sriracha on the table & enjoy. Next time, I'm adding curry. Oh yeah, whatever you do: don't omit the cinnamon & never overcook the chicken:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
After reading the reviews and knowing my tendency to over salt things, I cut the salt (normal table salt, not sea salt or kosher salt) in half from the suggested recipe and it was still way too salty to eat. I can also see where cutting out the Jalapeno would be better for most folks, because even the one mild and de-seeded one I used really turned up the heat on the overall recipe. Additionally, we could have cut the amount of chicken in half, as I had not nearly enough sauce to go with the protein. I ended up making a 2nd batch of sauce which also helped a bit to cut the saltiness and heat. That served with basmati rice and nan, fed my family of (3) twice over. I will give it another go with these adjustments in mind and adding the Garam Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Marinade was great, the sauce was fantastic! We ate a whole pot of rice! I followed the recipe including the all the salt except I omitted the jalapeño and replaced cinnamon with five spices seasoning, 1 can 6oz tomato paste + 6oz water since I didn't have any and doubled the sauce. Awesome! Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States