Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Less is more! I took a quick look at enough reviews to note that the salt content, as listed, was going to be way too overbearing so this is a review based on a version modified down to only 1 tsp each in the marinade and sauce. With that said, I would still cut that down by half if I were to ever follow this recipe again, which I won't. I just remembered that a few reviews also mentioned how hot this recipe was, so I cut the cayenne down by half as well and still found it to be a bit hotter than was comfortable - this will always be a matter of taste to each individual of course, but something that you should be aware of if you're cooking for children or others who might be sensitive to spice (which I actually am not). But most importantly, I can't imagine where the 4 and 5 star reviewers are eating this dish in local restaurants to compare this to because it doesn't taste like tikka masala at all. Has an aftertaste that reminds me of mayonnaise. It's just plain off. Oh, and along the lines of less is more, it's also overloaded with cumin. Rather than trying to fix this recipe I'm abandoning it altogether in search of one that actually tastes like what it's suppose to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Use as everyone says... reduce salt... add garam massala spice. PERFECT!! Marinade overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i followed everything except i did the salt to taste and added a bit more garlic and cream just to cut some of the tomato sauce . also i didn't use the jalapeño but y did have hot cayenne. its was awesome and tasted exactly like restaurant style. served with jasmine rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Very good, I cut out the jalapeno and cut the cayenne pepper in half, I thought it wasn't spicy, my girlfriend found it a tad too spicy, but she doesn't like spicy, so I may cut that in half a second time. This is WAY TOO SALTY! Cut the salt in half, that will be what I do the next time. Also if you don't have a grill, cook the chicken in a separate pan for 5-7 minutes, drain any extra juices and marinade and then add it to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Wow!!! This recipe is absolutely terrific! I was literally licking the spoon and pit so I didn't waste any last bit ? I did make modifications based upon the reviews - I used 1 tsp of salt and traded the cinnamon for 1 tsp of garam masala in the marinade. I did the same in the sauce and the results were spectacular. This may have been the best meal I've ever cooked!!! Thanks for helping make me look like an all-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I toned down the spicy seasonings and eliminated the salt almost completely. It was delicious! The only mistake I made was making white rice instead of basmati rice. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious! 1) used coconut milk instead of cream; 2) no jalapeno 3) always doubled up recipe because we enjoy it so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian Littles Ortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I really liked the spice that the jalepeno peppers added. I felt that the spices weren't quite right and added some garam masala which helped to bring a lot more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My husband and I tried this recipe and really enjoyed it! We tried it exactly how the recipe was written (with the exception of halving the salt) and next time we will modify to reduce the heat a bit for my sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Omit the salt altogether or use less than 1/4 the salt and pepper per recipe. I found this recipe was missing that curry flavor I like so much in my chicken tikka. Grilling the chicken per spec is phenom tho. Do Not sub milk for cream. The heavy cream is mandatory for the sauce but I try to go light when possible so in this instance the texture suffered. I shoulda stirred in a little plain yogurt but I also added a lil more fresh ginger purée in sauce. Yum. Just the chicken marinated & grilled on skewers was The Hit! Serve with basmati rice & stir in the freshly chopped cilantro into rice while it's hot. Do a nice tiziki cucumber salad on the side. You'll like the cool fresh soothing side especially if you go heavy on the heat like I do. As always, keep some Sriracha on the table & enjoy. Next time, I'm adding curry. Oh yeah, whatever you do: don't omit the cinnamon & never overcook the chicken:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States