Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I used it to introduce my family to Indian cuisine, and it was a massive hit. In keeping with the reviews before mine, I chose not to add any salt, but I also substituted 1 tsp of ground red pepper for the 2 tsp cayenne pepper and swapped the jalapeño out in favor of more accessible crushed red pepper flakes. Rather than grill the chicken, I marinated it in the yogurt mixture for an hour and then baked it for about an hour before serving it over rice. Absolutely wonderful. For extra flavor, try keeping the chicken breasts intact and layer some pineapple slices in between the rice bed and the chicken before you pour the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Use as everyone says... reduce salt... add garam massala spice. PERFECT!! Marinade overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i followed everything except i did the salt to taste and added a bit more garlic and cream just to cut some of the tomato sauce . also i didn't use the jalapeño but y did have hot cayenne. its was awesome and tasted exactly like restaurant style. served with jasmine rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Very good, I cut out the jalapeno and cut the cayenne pepper in half, I thought it wasn't spicy, my girlfriend found it a tad too spicy, but she doesn't like spicy, so I may cut that in half a second time. This is WAY TOO SALTY! Cut the salt in half, that will be what I do the next time. Also if you don't have a grill, cook the chicken in a separate pan for 5-7 minutes, drain any extra juices and marinade and then add it to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Wow!!! This recipe is absolutely terrific! I was literally licking the spoon and pit so I didn't waste any last bit ? I did make modifications based upon the reviews - I used 1 tsp of salt and traded the cinnamon for 1 tsp of garam masala in the marinade. I did the same in the sauce and the results were spectacular. This may have been the best meal I've ever cooked!!! Thanks for helping make me look like an all-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I toned down the spicy seasonings and eliminated the salt almost completely. It was delicious! The only mistake I made was making white rice instead of basmati rice. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious! 1) used coconut milk instead of cream; 2) no jalapeno 3) always doubled up recipe because we enjoy it so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian Littles Ortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I really liked the spice that the jalepeno peppers added. I felt that the spices weren't quite right and added some garam masala which helped to bring a lot more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My husband and I tried this recipe and really enjoyed it! We tried it exactly how the recipe was written (with the exception of halving the salt) and next time we will modify to reduce the heat a bit for my sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States