Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Ive been making this for a couple years now and its one of my go to dishes for large groups. I have never grilled this before. I place chicken yogurt mixture marinade in bowl as directed and let sit in fridge for an hour, then I dump it in a large sauce pan on med-high heat and cook till all juices run clear.. Remove chicken with slotted spoon or strained and move all juices to a bowl, i use a 4 cup glass measuring cupto put the liquid in. Put chicken back in pan and cook on high and slowly add some of the liquid back in(reducing).. A couple of table spoons at a time. About 1/3 of the juices all together. Chicken will brown up a bit and bottom of pan should have some medium burnt (not black!) residue in it. Remove chicken and put to the side. Follow instructions for melting butter spices and jalapeño in pan right on top of pan drippings/residue, omit salt and if you dont want spicy omit the pepper as well. Once you have melted spiced butter put in 15oz tomato sauce(double all spices in recipe for double the sauce.. You can double the chicken if you want too or just leave as is and enjoy the double sauce)and stir on medium and make sure to get all the residue off the pan and into the sauce. Add cream to your darkness/lightness liking and simmer in low for about 20-30 min stirring often to get all the chicken residue off the bottom of pan still. Add chicken and let simmer for another 10 min... This process does dry out the chicken a little but with the chicken chunks soaking in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The recipe calls for too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe is inedible due to being so over salted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Fantastic! I didn't cook it like they wanted me to. I did the first part, and then the second part (on the stove) and combined the two sauces. I cooked the chicken on the stove, though, and then added the sauce, and cooked it for a while with the sauce. Served over rice. Medium spicy, very flavorful. 10/10 would cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Fantastic recipe! I followed some review suggestions and made 2 times the sauce and left out all the salt. I didn't have time to use a grill so cooked it on a rack in the broiler and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I make this recipe all the time! I love this dish and this is the only recipe that comes close to restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Awesome dish. If it wasn't so time consuming to make I would do it more often. I use it for special occasions now and it never fails to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Way too much salt. Doesn't taste like tikka masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
It is terrible. WAY TO MUCH SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent Indian dish. Truthfully, I could not believe THIS came out of MY kitchen. Making the marinade, then grilling prior to making the saute sauce seemed like too many steps, but in the end I saw the absolute need for it. I used the marinade time to get the saute sauce ready and cleaned up dishes I had dirtied, so good time to multi-task as well. So the taste.... BOLD and spot on with restaurant versions of this. The cumin and paprika stood out, with a residual spicy kick. Definitely is not a bland dish whatsoever! We put over steamed white rice. It is a new item in our dinner rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States