Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I will start on a good note because I was able to save this just in the nick of time. Family loved this and I'd put it on our favorites list, with modifications. I learned my lesson the one time I didn't read a bunch of reviews before starting....holy SALT!! What in the world??! At first I thought it would be okay because the marinade wouldn't all be consumed with all that salt. Well, the chicken soaked up quite a bit of the marinade after only 1.5 hours so I decided to read some reviews before putting more salt in the sauce. I decided not to add any more, and next time I will reduce the amount in the marinade as well (and we're not afraid of salt around here usually). I can't in good conscience rate this recipe any higher as written, but I do appreciate the author sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
absolutley AMAZING! even my kids were asking for more. I added red and yellow peppers on the skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Hood Cable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica Farrens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I cut the cayenne and pepper in half and left out the jalapeno and it was still too spicy for me. Great recipe, though, next time I'll quarter the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and I don't have access to grill, so I skewer the chicken and roast it in the oven elevated over a casserole dish. While the salt (7 teaspoons) is definitely excessive, I wouldn't omit it entirely. Instead I would go for 2-3 teaspoons in the marinade only. Salt helps draw moisture out of the chicken and brings more balance to the flavors in the marinade. During the simmering stages the salt will become distributed in the sauce as well, adding more flavor. Salt definitely helps with the texture of this dish, which I didn't appreciate until I tried to follow others suggestions and not use it at all, which was a big mistake. Overall excellent recipe. Better than many restaurants and lots cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree. WAY too salty. Going to try 1/6th of the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpalmertree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Have made this recipe many many times! Always reduce the salt as others have said. For easier cooking I put the chicken with ALL the marinade on a baking sheet and broil in the oven, turning once until the chicken is cooked. Then I put everything into the sauce so none of the marinade flavours are lost and it is amazing! I rarely find a restaurant version that can compete with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was tasty but it contained way too much salt, and I even omitted a couple tsp. Next time I make it I will cut the salt at least by half. Once I got past the saltiness, the flavors were a lovely mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Mazur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Wowza this was so yummy! I took the other reviewers advice and added LESS SALT! I will add even LESS salt next time around, probably none at all in the sauce at the end. Other than that, Amazeballs! IT is my bfriend's favorite dish and he's lived in the UK for many years, so hard act to follow, but he loved it except for the extra salty factor. He said "it's better than any tikka I have had here in America" ;) So next time it will be better than, or as good as he's ever had Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Really great Indian taste. We were so pleased with how it came out. We did not use the skewers to cook the meat - unnecessary. Also, we added turmeric (because of all the health benefits) and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daryl Kulak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States