Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Amazing recipe, but for the first time it took us a little over three hours to make it, but only 10 min to eat it!! It will probably go faster next time. We did not add the jalapeño and cut back on the salt (we used about 1/2 tsp) and cayenne pepper (we used just under 1 tsp) and it was soooooooo good!!!! Also the grilled chicken by itself is delicious. Over all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Awesome! Even my husband likes it, and he SWEARS he hates indian food. I omitted all but 1 teaspoon of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
WAY TOO MUCH SALT!!! The flavors would probably have been amazing had it not been for the salt. I would say use a total of 2 tsp max, not 7!! I should had known not to add so much. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I read the reviews, and based on that, the only change I made was to eliminate all of the salt, and as I was feeding kids and grandparents, cut the cayenne pepper in half. Fantastic recipe - I could drink the sauce - truly outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fifteen years ago there was a family owned curry place around the corner from my house in Cambridge England. They made a chicken masala that has haunted my taste buds for years. I have searched the net for years for a recipe that comes close- and here it is. I made a few modifications the second time I made it, but those were just personal taste. This is the best tika masala I have found. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is very good and easy to make and similar to what you would get in an Indian restaurant. I would agree with the other reviews in saying that you don't need all that salt. We put two teaspoons total for the marinade and the sauce and it was more than enough. We also cut the cream in half as I didn't want it to be milky. It was still quite creamy and the thickness was perfect. It had some spiciness to it but I would add extra peppers if you really like that extra kick. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! but needed major alterations. I took out ALL the salt. added a tsp of gara masala to both the sauce and the chicken. cooked chicken for 5 min tops. added one onion and 3 garlic cloves to sauce. added garlic to chicken also. used a whole can (15oz) of tomato sauce instead of 8oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Amazing flavor minimal effort! I made this with some substitutions for gluten/dairy free dieters and got rave reviews! Instead of cow yogurt I used goat for the marinade, added lemon zest, reduced the cayenne, used grill pieces left whole instead of cut on skewers. Since it was our Christmas dinner and not warm enough for the grill, I baked in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour, flipped midway. For the sauce I omitted the jalapeno, used olive oil and coconut milk instead of butter and cream. Used a can of diced san marzano tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and added a half cup of fresh mint to garnish with the cilantro. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the 3 teaspoons it says to add to the sauce ruined the recipe. The flavors in the chicken & sauce were great but unfortunately the salt made it not edible. We'll definitely make it again but with minimal salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Awesome recipe - IF you cut the salt wayyyy back. I love salty food and add salt to everything, but this was so salty it burned my tongue. If you cut the salt in the marinade to 1 tsp instead of 4 and cut down salt to 1 tsp instead of 3 in the sauce, it's just perfect. Very spicy, very yummy. Best home-cooked tikka masala I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States