Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe seemed very promising. There were 2400 ratings with a 4.4 star average and 1800+ reviews! I usually read the reviews, but the rating was so high that I thought it was unnecessary. I was so wrong! AS THE RECIPE IS WRITTEN, it is terrible. There is WAY TO MUCH SALT! Everyone who tried it, including us, could not finish their plates. After this disappointment, I finally went through the reviews. There were many five star reviews stating that the recipe was excellent. . .with a few changes. Please, everybody, can we rate the actual recipe how it is written? Please don't rate this recipe as five stars AFTER YOU CHANGE THE RECIPE! We should not be rating the recipes potential! We should be rating the actual recipe as it is written. I will be trying this recipe again with much less salt(1tsp in the marinade, and 1/2tsp in the sauce). I'm sure that it will be amazing. . .with a few changes. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent Indian dish. Truthfully, I could not believe THIS came out of MY kitchen. Making the marinade, then grilling prior to making the saute sauce seemed like too many steps, but in the end I saw the absolute need for it. I used the marinade time to get the saute sauce ready and cleaned up dishes I had dirtied, so good time to multi-task as well. So the taste.... BOLD and spot on with restaurant versions of this. The cumin and paprika stood out, with a residual spicy kick. Definitely is not a bland dish whatsoever! We put over steamed white rice. It is a new item in our dinner rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was a good recipe. I had to cut down the salt when I realized how much it actually called for. I think I will omit the jalapeno next time with half as much salt as I used. So for the marinade 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp salt for the sauce next time. The black pepper was a bit much so I will use half and half of the cayenne pepper. All-in-all it turned out wonderful. Will definitely make this for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Fry Lehner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I loved this! Creamy and delicious, this was perfect for me (I don't like overbearing curry flavors). Notes: I reduced the 3tsp of salt in the sauce to 1 1/2 and it was right on the verge of being too salty. I also pan-fried the chicken instead of grilling to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Lam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My family loves this. I cut the butter in half, use evaporated milk in place of heavy cream, and halve the amount of recommended salt. I also sometimes have to substitute 2 tsp. ground ginger for fresh or re-hydrate dry cilantro in a pinch. I also don't have the option of grilling the meat. I sear it in a hot cast iron skillet before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I fixed it due to my knowledge of indian food. Before I fixed it it tasted like watered down spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
7 tsp of salt for four servings!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
awesome recipe! i only went for the sauce, and it was exactly what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corneliu Coman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious! I followed reviewers' advice and didn't add the amount of salt it called for. Wonderful way to save money on our favorite Indian dish by making it at home! Next time I will try using whole milk instead of heavy cream to cut down on the calories. We made naan from this website also to go with it, such a yummy meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omega_iteration
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Followed everyone's suggestion to cut salt and added garam masala. Added 1/2 an onion, spinach, and, kale for a chicken tikka saag that was pretty killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omega_iteration

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States