Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
wow! I frequent an Indian Restaurant often just for this dish - this turned out as good/better than theirs - super impressed - I did only use 1/2 of a jalepeno and the heat (for me) was perfect! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
What a great recipe! Made it just as written ( I always try to do that the first time I use a recipe and tweak it if needed the next time I make it ) and this needed no improving. It had perfect balance of richness and spice. It's comparable to my favorite local Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
way too salty. I attempted to fix with some brown sugar and another cup of cream. Still sLty, but edible. Will try again sans salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Shuker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Served over jasmine rice (cooked with a bit of coconut oil) and wow! Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
very simple recipe to follow and it tastes great! Of course if you can read it says Salt to taste, so adjusting the salt was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I wish people wouldn't rate a recipe AFTER they have made their own modifications to the written recipe. Seeing that this recipe had 4.5 stars, made it mostly as written (after briefly skimming a few reviews). I reduced the amount of salt, cayenne pepper and the jalapeño. Even after HALVING the amount of salt, it was INEDIBLY salty. It was way to spicy, but since that is a matter of taste, I don't hold that against the individual who posted this recipe. So frustrated staring at a pan full of food that I either have to choke down, or waste. All of that being said, I think the recipe has potential and will try it again, leaving out the salt and cayenne pepper completely and drastically reducing the jalapeño too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Ive been making this for a couple years now and its one of my go to dishes for large groups. I have never grilled this before. I place chicken yogurt mixture marinade in bowl as directed and let sit in fridge for an hour, then I dump it in a large sauce pan on med-high heat and cook till all juices run clear.. Remove chicken with slotted spoon or strained and move all juices to a bowl, i use a 4 cup glass measuring cupto put the liquid in. Put chicken back in pan and cook on high and slowly add some of the liquid back in(reducing).. A couple of table spoons at a time. About 1/3 of the juices all together. Chicken will brown up a bit and bottom of pan should have some medium burnt (not black!) residue in it. Remove chicken and put to the side. Follow instructions for melting butter spices and jalapeño in pan right on top of pan drippings/residue, omit salt and if you dont want spicy omit the pepper as well. Once you have melted spiced butter put in 15oz tomato sauce(double all spices in recipe for double the sauce.. You can double the chicken if you want too or just leave as is and enjoy the double sauce)and stir on medium and make sure to get all the residue off the pan and into the sauce. Add cream to your darkness/lightness liking and simmer in low for about 20-30 min stirring often to get all the chicken residue off the bottom of pan still. Add chicken and let simmer for another 10 min... This process does dry out the chicken a little but with the chicken chunks soaking in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The recipe calls for too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe is inedible due to being so over salted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Fantastic! I didn't cook it like they wanted me to. I did the first part, and then the second part (on the stove) and combined the two sauces. I cooked the chicken on the stove, though, and then added the sauce, and cooked it for a while with the sauce. Served over rice. Medium spicy, very flavorful. 10/10 would cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States