Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This would be a really good recipe except for the salt. Sadly I didn't read the reviews below. Didn't realize there were any. It was so salty we could barely eat it. I made the chicken tikka masala and basmati rice and baingan bharta. The salt in the chicken tikka was so bad I made a new sauce with only a 1/2 tsp of salt and rinsed off the chicken and put it in that sauce. We are having the leftovers for lunch on Monday so I don't know how the salt level is now. Now that I have read the reviews I will cut the salt right back on both the marinade and sauce and use my friend's homemade garam masala in place of the cinnamon. I am definitely trying it again because it it weren't for the sale it would have been excellent. Because of how salty is was I have to give it only one star. I think it's ridiculous they even say that amount of salt. My husband still thinks it's a misprint. Edited to say that after I rinsed the chicken off and remade the sauce it was very delicious. Passed my East Indian friend's high standards. Both this and the Baingan Bharta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Pfiefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was quite simply amazing! Spicy but not too much. Easy to make and easier to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Agius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
WAY too much salt is for my taste..leaving out the salt next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I took advice of others and reduced cayenne pepper and the heat was perfect, just a little, the way I like it. Also only added a little salt as suggested. Put over jasmine rice. Better than any I've had at any Indian restaurant I've been to! My brother loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
As my daughter said this is an American spin on an Indian dish. I didn't use as much salt and I used garam masala instead of cinnamon. I have never eaten this before so I have nothing to compare it too but my whole family agrees that it is to die for. I cooked the chicken in the oven since it was raining out. I also marinated the chicken for 5 hours. I think over night would make it even better if its possible. I served this with rice and flour tortillas that's what I had on hand and also some greenbeans, it was yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Used half the salt called for and substituted half and half for the heavy cream -- it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was excellent. I agree with others who've tried this, it definitely asks for WAY too much salt. But I'm an intermediate cook so I knew right off the bat it was too much, so I cut it down to two teaspoons total. The flavors were so good and it was very spicy. My husband and I loved it but I'd lessen the heat when making it for our kids. Thanks for submitting an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Delicious! I am going to use less cayenne next time. It was just a little on the hot side and we normally order things medium - hot. I didn't use a whole jalapeño either because of the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Was good but next time I will not be adding any peppers.. Made it way too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasmeen Al-yamani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
LOVED this. So good! We ate ours wrapped up in tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States