Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Yum! I don't usually rate a recipe when I alter it, but there are over 1700 reviews here so it probably won't matter. I did not use any salt until the sauce was simmering and then i only added it to taste. I replaced the cream with coconut milk and I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs. This tastes so much like what i get at our local Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Has a very good flavor, but the paprika comes through a little strong. I would use a bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MKS657
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was amazingly good! My picky children enjoyed it. However, I did do a few things different. I doubled the sauce, added a half onion minced to the actual sauce (not the marinade), I used ginger paste instead of minced ginger & seasoned with salt & cayenne to my own taste. My husband inhaled it! Hahaha thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is the first indian dish I've ever tried to make and it has the potential to be great! The only changes I'd make is to cut the suggested salt in half. As the recipe is written, WHOA! Way too salty! I'd also use only half a jalapeno. I like spicy but using the whole jalapeno was uncomfortably spicy. Other than those minor changes, this is a good recipe. I'm going to give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Really fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joan8
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Turned out good!!! Like the other reviewers, i did not add salt until i was making the sauce.. I put about a pinch and that was enough. Did not have cilantro on hand so i used parsley instead, served with basmati rice! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe with one glaring exception. NO garam masala in a chicken "masala" recipe? Add 2 teaspoons of garam masala to the recipe. Please note the "salt to taste". MUCH less salt than the maximum is needed for this recipe. After making these changes to the recipe it has become a favorite. Not quite the taste of the authentic Indian restaurant in town, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We are exploring Indian food for the first time. This recipe was a big hit. Indian in flavors but not overwhelming and not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good! I saw what others already posted about the salt and only put in one tsp total and it was perfect. My husband even liked it and he hates Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States