Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
awesome recipe! i only went for the sauce, and it was exactly what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corneliu Coman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious! I followed reviewers' advice and didn't add the amount of salt it called for. Wonderful way to save money on our favorite Indian dish by making it at home! Next time I will try using whole milk instead of heavy cream to cut down on the calories. We made naan from this website also to go with it, such a yummy meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omega_iteration
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Followed everyone's suggestion to cut salt and added garam masala. Added 1/2 an onion, spinach, and, kale for a chicken tikka saag that was pretty killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omega_iteration

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have now made this dozens of times and it is seriously yummy. I've only ever made it with fresh salmon and not chicken but the recipe translates well. Pair it with rice and naan and you have a delicious Indian feast that will have people licking the plate, literally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Reneé McMeans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I will start on a good note because I was able to save this just in the nick of time. Family loved this and I'd put it on our favorites list, with modifications. I learned my lesson the one time I didn't read a bunch of reviews before starting....holy SALT!! What in the world??! At first I thought it would be okay because the marinade wouldn't all be consumed with all that salt. Well, the chicken soaked up quite a bit of the marinade after only 1.5 hours so I decided to read some reviews before putting more salt in the sauce. I decided not to add any more, and next time I will reduce the amount in the marinade as well (and we're not afraid of salt around here usually). I can't in good conscience rate this recipe any higher as written, but I do appreciate the author sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
absolutley AMAZING! even my kids were asking for more. I added red and yellow peppers on the skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Hood Cable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica Farrens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I cut the cayenne and pepper in half and left out the jalapeno and it was still too spicy for me. Great recipe, though, next time I'll quarter the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and I don't have access to grill, so I skewer the chicken and roast it in the oven elevated over a casserole dish. While the salt (7 teaspoons) is definitely excessive, I wouldn't omit it entirely. Instead I would go for 2-3 teaspoons in the marinade only. Salt helps draw moisture out of the chicken and brings more balance to the flavors in the marinade. During the simmering stages the salt will become distributed in the sauce as well, adding more flavor. Salt definitely helps with the texture of this dish, which I didn't appreciate until I tried to follow others suggestions and not use it at all, which was a big mistake. Overall excellent recipe. Better than many restaurants and lots cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree. WAY too salty. Going to try 1/6th of the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpalmertree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States