Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I keep making this with LOTS of positive feedback, BUT i have tailored the spices and the sauce to my liking..,PLEASE be aware that when doubling or tripling (as I do) this recipe- it seems the amount of spices ESPECIALLY the ginger and salt- do NOT have to be doubled or tripled......I also added a dash of garam masala to the sauce which made it taste great! You definitely NEED to TRIPLE the sauce recipe. I do a 28 oz can of purée with an 8 oz can of sauce and that makes the perfect amount of sauce to chicken ratio. Don't you want something saucy to mix with your rice?? The person who made this recipe must just like the chicken to have a little sauce on it...because you will not have ANY for your rice if you just use that recipe.... I use 9 chicken breast tenderloins for all this sauce and it works out perfectly! Tailor it to your liking- my advice would be start small with the spices then gradually add more if you want- instead of heaping all that spice in that it calls for and finding out the hard way like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Pretty spicy, left out the salt, but really a knockout dish. Will make again for friends in a week with plenty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Huxtable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
The marinating process for this chicken tikka is great! I marinated for 12hrs instead of 1 though, and the chicken ended up incredibly tender and delicious. I also didn't grill the chicken, simply browned it in a pan on the stove with some olive oil. Warning: this recipe is SPICY. I 1/2'ed the cayenne & paprika it called for and it STILL came out a little too spicy for my taste (still delicious & edible, just needed a tall glass of water with dinner). Another note: I used light whipping cream instead of heavy and it still turned out delicious. Served it with saffron rice & warm naan, was incredibly authentic & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Next time I will not be using the full amount of tomato sauce as it is far to powerful for my tastes. Otherwise I dig it and will use it next time and see what else I want to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I cut out the cayenne pepper so it would be mild enough for kids. It was very tasty without being too hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I cut half the salt, per others advice and it was perfect. I also didn't have paprika, only smoked paprika. I was afraid it would hurt the flavor of the dish, but it turned out wonderful. I also broiled the chicken on some foil instead of breaking out the grill. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
One of the best recipes I've tried. My husband and his friends always request this! I wouldn't change a thing about it, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Delicious! I left out ALL of the salt and cut the cayenne pepper to one tsp. It had just the right kick. I probably could've left the cayenne at 2 tsps and probably will next time, but other reviewers had me fearful of the heat. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly...marinating for 1.5 hours. We served over rice. My husband LOVED it. Full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I reaaally wish I would've read the other reviews before trying this (or used common sense)... definitely a good recipe but as everyone else said there is waaaay too much salt. I would maybe decrease to 1 t. for the marinade and 1/2-1 t. for the sauce. Definitely going to make this again exactly the same but with the reduced salt. It tastes like I dropped the chicken tikka masala into the ocean. Good level of spiciness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
After reading the reviews I decided to make this adding salt to taste rather than the amounts listed. I ended up using about 1/2t of salt total. I added the jalapeno and cayenne to taste as well because the tikka masala I am used to is not spicy at all, rather its fairly sweet. The end result was close to what I am used to and would make it again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States