Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Awesome recipe! First time I've made chicken tikka masala & I plan to keep on a regular rotation at our house! I did listen to a previous suggestion to omit the salt altogether & otherwise made it verbatim also. D-e-l- i-c-i-o-u-s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Perfect other than the salt. I would use maybe a half of a teaspoon not 3 whole teaspoons. Spicy but good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was an absolutely wonderful recipe. It was the first time I was making Chicken Tikka Masala and it tasted like it came from a restaurant. I read some reviews saying it was too spicy, so I tried to lower the amount of cayenne pepper and the Jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe. Cut the salt down A LOT. I am planning on using just the marinade sometime as well, the chicken tasted great before I put it in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was absolutely phenomenal! I am a wimp when it comes to hot spices so I left out the jalapeno pepper and reduced the cayenne. It was perfect for me. I tasted the sauce as it was simmering, before I added the chicken and at that point in the process, I wasn't crazy about it. But after I added the chicken, and the flavors from the yogurt marinade melded with the sauce, it was every bit as good as anything I've ever had in an Indian restaurant. Served with basmati rice, scented with cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I tried making chicken tikka masala for the first time ever using this recipe and it was delicious! After reading the other reviews, I didn't use the amount of salt called for in the recipe. I added about a teaspoon of salt to the marinade and a teaspoon of salt to the tomato cream sauce, plus a little more on the chicken after cooking it. I didn't have access to a grill or oven, so I just pan sauteed the chicken until cooked through, removed it and used the same pan to make the tomato cream sauce. I also added a teaspoon of garam masala to the marinade, subbing it out for a teaspoon of cumin. And instead of butter, I used coconut oil. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I heard this recipe was salty, but only after reading the comments on here after cooking the dish. While eating (before knowing many thought this dish is too salty) I didn't notice an excess of salt, but I did think to myself while putting it in that it was a lot. This was my first time making tikka masala and was very happy with the results. Some users suggest modifying the recipe, which I think is a good idea, given your preferences. I did find it to be spicy, but nicely so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAdamGoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Added some curry powder and more than measured below
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I only added two teaspoons of salt at the end.. Still really salty. But other than that the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
No point rating it if you've modified it...Duh! Lovely recipe, without changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States