Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I really liked the spice that the jalepeno peppers added. I felt that the spices weren't quite right and added some garam masala which helped to bring a lot more flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My husband and I tried this recipe and really enjoyed it! We tried it exactly how the recipe was written (with the exception of halving the salt) and next time we will modify to reduce the heat a bit for my sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I use less than 1/4 the salt and pepper per recipe. Grilling the chicken per spec is phenom. I don't sub milk for cream. The heavy cream is mandatory for the sauce but I try to go light when possible so in this instance the texture suffered. I shoulda stirred in a little plain yogurt but I also added a lil more fresh ginger purée in sauce. Yum. Just the chicken marinated & grilled on skewers was The Hit! Serve with basmati rice & stir in the freshly chopped cilantro into rice while it's hot. Do a nice tiziki cucumber salad on the side. You'll like the cool fresh soothing side especially if you go heavy on the heat like I do. As always, keep some Sriracha on the table & enjoy. Next time, I'm adding curry. Oh yeah, whatever you do: don't omit the cinnamon & never overcook the chicken:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
After reading the reviews and knowing my tendency to over salt things, I cut the salt (normal table salt, not sea salt or kosher salt) in half from the suggested recipe and it was still way too salty to eat. I can also see where cutting out the Jalapeno would be better for most folks, because even the one mild and de-seeded one I used really turned up the heat on the overall recipe. Additionally, we could have cut the amount of chicken in half, as I had not nearly enough sauce to go with the protein. I ended up making a 2nd batch of sauce which also helped a bit to cut the saltiness and heat. That served with basmati rice and nan, fed my family of (3) twice over. I will give it another go with these adjustments in mind and adding the Garam Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Marinade was great, the sauce was fantastic! We ate a whole pot of rice! I followed the recipe including the all the salt except I omitted the jalapeño and replaced cinnamon with five spices seasoning, 1 can 6oz tomato paste + 6oz water since I didn't have any and doubled the sauce. Awesome! Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Cruzin Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The "or to taste" option should really be taken here. I added the 3 tsp of salt for the sauce without thinking and it might as well have been a salt sauce. I threw it out and started over with no salt at all (as I'm assuming the marinade will provide more than enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dewy
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
OMG..This is divine!!! I was really skeptical about the recipe but this is simply delicious. I marinated my chicken overnight using the ingredients listed but I substituted 5 tsp garam masala for the spices & only 1/2ts salt. Broiled the chicken on the skewer for about 10 minutes. Cook the sauce as instructed but I also added some garam masala in the sauce (1tsp cumin, 1tsp paprika & 1 1/2 tsp garam). Excellent over rice...still yearning it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Recently had chicken tikka masala at an Indian restaurant & I loved it so I decided I would try it at home. I made only slight changes, started my marinate at lunch time. I also used the amount of salt that seemed appropriate it, also added some curry powder and used less cayenne but after making it I think I would add more spice. Great either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This came out great. I would gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States