Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I think this recipe had real potential. The thing that ruined it for me and my family was all the SALT!! Whoever wrote this recipe must have thought that "Tikka Masala" is Hindi for SALT. 7 teaspoons?! Really?! I could barely taste any of the other spices because of all the SALT. If i decide to try this again, I think I'd use 1/2-1 tsp. of SALT in the marinade and only 1/2-1 tsp. of SALT in the sauce. I know I keep spelling the word SALT in all caps, but it's because I want people to be able to see what the problem with this recipe was. SALT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made it per recipe- turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Here's the deal. The recipe, excluding all the salt, is really delicious. It's definitely not Chicken Tikka Masala, but it is a yummy Chicken + Sauce + Rice dish and I plan to add it to my meal rotation. This is definitely not authentic Indian food but it is a good meal nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lintacious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
So good, wife was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was a great recipe but was not spicy at all. I followed other reviews and cut down on the salt which was a good thing. I would add more jalapeño and cumin next time but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This chicken was amazing! I marinated the chicken for about 24 hrs and instead of putting it on skewers I grilled it as a whole chicken breast and cut it into large sized cubes once I had the sauce ready, the sauce was flavorful and easy to put together, the chicken was absolutely moist, I took it to work to share and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
TOO MUCH SALT The other flavors and seasonings were on point, which is too bad because this recipe was close to fantastic otherwise (and to be fair I made it again later with NO salt and the other seasonings were completely sufficient - this recipe doesn't need ANY salt). I have no clue why 7 tsp. of salt are listed; is it a typo? Anyway it was inedible for us as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is my favorite way to cook chicken. This is wonderful! The only thing I did differently was add less salt. This is one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I will be looking for a different tikka recipe, I'm not sure why but this one just didn't cut it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Oh my... This was really amazing!! I did make 2 changes- I hardly put any salt in, just to taste. I also put the juice of 1 whole lemon. But other than that, I left it the same. My entire family went bonkers for this. They said it was the best thing that I've made, and I love cooking. My younger brother is very picky, and he loved it. So, just don't put so much salt and you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Robins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States