Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
SO GOOD. I cut the salt way down - 1 tsp in the marinade and less than that in the sauce - because as written it would have been inedible, but I still think it deserves 4 stars because the rest of the recipe was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
this was supper easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Temple
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Too much salt ??correct the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I used about 1/3 the amount of salt listed and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan De Sesso
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Amazing recipe, with some slight adjustments! I took advice from a few of the comments here and made a few modifications to the recipe.. The original recipe calls for way too much salt. I only used 1 tsp of salt for the marinade and 1 tsp for the sauce. And instead of cinnamon and cheyenne pepper, i used 1 tsp Garam Masala for the marinade, and 4 tsp for the sauce. It was full of flavor and better than most of the indiant restaurants that ive been to! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan De Sesso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
It was fantastic! Delicious all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stecki
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Just made this after trying some other tikka masala recipes and this is most like the one my favorite Indian restaurant serves. After reading other reviews I chose to cut down the salt, only using one teaspoon in both the marinade and the sauce and didn't miss the rest. I did not use the jalapeno either and it was spicy enough (although I admit I rank poorly on the hot food scale). I added part of a red onion left over from a great shrimp taco recipe on this site, cut into long slivers which was nice. I did not feel like firing up my charcoal grill so I just broiled the bits of chicken in the oven, nice and tender. When i do this recipe again, I will definitely try the grilling option as I am sure it only makes it even better. I cooked my sauce a bit too long as I prefer it a little runny to mix all up in the rice. It was a little thick, but since I didn't have any naan bread, it was ok. On the reheat I will pour in some extra cream to thin it up a bit. This was very easy to make and for the effort was really quite delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
My husband and I love Indian food- and this was definitely a keeper for us. I listened to the suggestions and only put 1 teaspoon of salt in the sauce and marinade. If you can marinade for more than an hour- it helps the chicken soak in the flavour. Great with naan and basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
As everyone else has said, don't add the salt. I put in a few turns of my sea salt grinder and that's it. Also, I use a combination of cinnamon, cumin and garam masala as others have suggested. I sometimes substitute a quarter of a green bell pepper minced in place of the jalapeno because my wife doesn't like it as spicy. Make sure you don't add the chicken to the sauce too early or it will get way too dry. I serve over jasmine or basmati rice with naan. Its always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States