Chicken Thighs Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Good, good, good. My inlaws and husband loved it. It's simple to make and doesn't last long!! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very good, very easy. I did not have eggplant or mushrooms, however I used some cream of musroom soup and I served it with some brown rice. We all loved it. I can imagine how much better it will taste with ALL the ingredients! Can not wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apollari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wouldn't you know, the day this recipe came my way, I had all the ingredients...well subbing chicken tenders for thighs, using fresh green beans,broccoli, mushrooms,and onions...and it was sooooo good! I also had leftover mashed potatoes for the gravy. I did try to thicken the soup mix with a little flour/water and it was still a little runny, but my husband and I loved it! I used cream of mushroom soup. I didn't use all the pepper it called for, and sprinkled the cheese (shredded mix of cheese)on top at the end of baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Simple and easy. You really can't go wrong with Cream of chicken.... fortunately or unfortunately, it's the same taste always. What made this recipe nice was the eggplant/squash. I added baby ears of corn which made for a different texture and was very tasty. Also some chopped red pepper for color. Very enjoyable meal and I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was awesome and easy to make. The eggplant at the store was too large so I substituted zucchini and used shredded Italian cheese blend. Can't wait to try the leftovers tonight. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
WOW! What a great recipe! I did make changes - I used cream of celery soup instead, and the vegetables were zucchini, mushrooms, and onions. I added 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper, 1/2 t. granulated garlic, and 1 1/2 t. bouquet garni to the soup/broth sauce. My husband could not get enough! I suggest serving this dish with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe ! I had broccoli on hand so that is what I used for the vegetable. The swiss cheese is a great touch and gives it wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I actually did my own version with recipe basics. Browned the chicken first, w/skin on and used carrots, onions and mushrooms on the bottom. Also added some sherry and it was awesome!! Sweetest carrots I've ever had and the whole dinner screamed comfort and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. I use mixed veggies and we eat it a lot over rice. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Such a versatile recipe! I added red peppers to mine, and used dried eggplant (cause that's what I had). I omitted the cream soup and used a cup of low sodium chicken broth instead of the canned. I did not have a squash, so I used a sweet potato/yam. I also added paprika, fresh thyme, cumin powder, and dried rosemary to taste. I browned the chicken with the skin on to begin with; removed the skin and drained the fat out of the pan, reserving a couple of tablespoons; put the chicken back in the pot with the veggies on top and poured in the broth and let simmer for about 45 minutes; took the chicken out and boiled the rest until reduced to a thick sauce. The veggies were a little mushy but LOTS of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States