Chicken Thighs Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Such a versatile recipe! I added red peppers to mine, and used dried eggplant (cause that's what I had). I omitted the cream soup and used a cup of low sodium chicken broth instead of the canned. I did not have a squash, so I used a sweet potato/yam. I also added paprika, fresh thyme, cumin powder, and dried rosemary to taste. I browned the chicken with the skin on to begin with; removed the skin and drained the fat out of the pan, reserving a couple of tablespoons; put the chicken back in the pot with the veggies on top and poured in the broth and let simmer for about 45 minutes; took the chicken out and boiled the rest until reduced to a thick sauce. The veggies were a little mushy but LOTS of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. I use mixed veggies and we eat it a lot over rice. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe...kind of a comfort dish. I did a couple of things differently... I browned the chicken in a little olive oil first (so that it didn't take so long to cook) then I did exactly what DRUMNWRITE said...I used what I had. Put in some mushrooms, some onion, a lot of garlic and some zucchinni. Then to give it a little italian feel, I added some italian seasoning and then topped it off with some parmesean cheese instead of swiss. Turned out awesome, down home goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
WOW! What a great recipe! I did make changes - I used cream of celery soup instead, and the vegetables were zucchini, mushrooms, and onions. I added 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper, 1/2 t. granulated garlic, and 1 1/2 t. bouquet garni to the soup/broth sauce. My husband could not get enough! I suggest serving this dish with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this recipe was definitely easy to put together and was very tasty. My family liked it and i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I thought the dish had good flavor, but for me the eggplant tasted fishy, which I did not like at all. My husband gave this one the thumbs down, so I guess I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I've never actually written a review before now, but I felt I had to. After following the recipe exactly, I wound up serving it in soup bowls, because it was so "soupy". The eggplant totally disentigrated and the cheese almost looked curdled. IF anyone decides to make this recipe, I would strongly recommend throwing a cup or so of rice or pasta to soak up some of abundance of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I must admit that even though I'm not a huge thigh fan (wings.. yummy), I did like this recipe. I only had a few ingredients so it wasn't as hearty as I would have liked. I also felt that it was too soupy for my taste and will try to make the sauce thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe ! I had broccoli on hand so that is what I used for the vegetable. The swiss cheese is a great touch and gives it wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Nice, quick & easy weeknight dinner. All in one dish, everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing! This will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States