Chicken Thighs Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Flavor was good but way too soupy. I halved the chicken broth but don't think you need any,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Twas delicious! My aunt was over for dinner and she has celiac's.. This was a perfect dish to serve with her as a guest.. I did have to cook it much longer than stated, so watch for that!!! Oh, and I would also follow the other suggestions and serve over a bed of rice, white/basmati/saffron/wild - Any would be great... It is very soupy AND delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because when tweaked, it was delicious. The first time I made it, it was soupy and spilled over in the oven. The veggies were mushy and we had to search to find them in all of the soup/sauce. This time, I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and omitted the chicken broth. I also sauted only the onion, garlic and mushrooms. I added more veggies - squash, zucchini,asparagus- and more spices - basil and thyme. It was wonderful this time. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAWG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
splash of wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent, easy recipe.!! My husband has very discriminating taste and said this was good enough to serve to company! My change was to add a package of onion soup mix and water since I did not have chicken broth.!! I browned the chicken and veggies before baking everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was not a good mix. The thighs were rubbery and the sauce didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
It was good but a bit too liquidy for my taste. I used the recommended vegetables plus some fresh green beans. I like the green beans and the other veggies were good too, but the latter were a bit on the too soft side. I used Dubliner cheese instead of Swiss and was quite a nice flavor. This dish would be better I think with 1 can of cream of chicken soup (vs. 2) and no added chicken broth. (And less eggplant/squash and more green beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I actually did my own version with recipe basics. Browned the chicken first, w/skin on and used carrots, onions and mushrooms on the bottom. Also added some sherry and it was awesome!! Sweetest carrots I've ever had and the whole dinner screamed comfort and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was great! Since everyone was reviewing it as being so versatile, I actually used frozen mixed veggies, along with the fresh mushrooms, and frozen chopped onions. I also used "mexican" mixed cheese instead of swiss, and topped it with fried onions. Everyone liked it...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Such a versatile recipe! I added red peppers to mine, and used dried eggplant (cause that's what I had). I omitted the cream soup and used a cup of low sodium chicken broth instead of the canned. I did not have a squash, so I used a sweet potato/yam. I also added paprika, fresh thyme, cumin powder, and dried rosemary to taste. I browned the chicken with the skin on to begin with; removed the skin and drained the fat out of the pan, reserving a couple of tablespoons; put the chicken back in the pot with the veggies on top and poured in the broth and let simmer for about 45 minutes; took the chicken out and boiled the rest until reduced to a thick sauce. The veggies were a little mushy but LOTS of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States