Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I substituted some cream of celery for one of the cream of chickens and left out the corn. I also made homemade biscuits to drop in. The flavors of this soup are divine, it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family LOVED this! Very good. I also threw the bacon right in (as others did) and I used the Bisquick Dumpling recipe (from the box) since I forgot to buy the biscuits. Will definitely make this again. Note: had the leftovers for lunch, adding a little water before putting in the microwave (the dumplings soak up a lot of the liquid). I think it tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
WOW! This recipe is sooooo yummy! Very filling, tasty, great for cold weather. My 16 month old is very taken with it as well. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
My entire family enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was so good! I did replace the corn with some fresh peas I had in the fridge and I used Bisquick cheddar cheese dumplings because I didn't have the biscuits in a can. I cut the recipe in half, because it was just me and my husband but it's so good reheated the next day, I'll be making the full recipe from now on. I'll also make more sauce/gravy because the Bisquick dumplings soaked up a lot of it and that was a really nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe!! My husband loves the canned chicken corn chowder but when he tasted this he was even more in love with my cooking!! I also just added the bacon right in and I added a shredded chicken breast as well because I like my stews full of meat. Dumplings def take longer than 10 minutes. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe is "Really Good". It was a huge it with my family and I will be putting it in my favorite recipe box. Easy to prepare and outstanding flavors! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I did everything in here wrong and it was still delicious. By doing everything wrong I mean I used olive oil instead of butter, omitted the bacon, increased the amount of thighs, put the whole thighs in instead of pulling the meat off, just used onion and garlic for vegetables, kept the same amount of liquids as for the smaller amount, used a smaller can of cream of chicken soup, used half-and-half instead of full cream, stirred in frozen corn and cooked the whole thing in a wok. It was delicious and kid friendly. My whole family ate it. It took me along time to cook but it requires very little attention. One thing though, it is not one the diet approved list. I can feel my arteries clogging as I type. It is a wonderful easy winter meal. If you are not particularly kitchen skilled (as I am not) you can impress someone with relatively little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Oh, this is really good. I made a couple minor tweaks... I just mix the bacon right in, I skip the heavy cream entirely, and use a larger can of corn. I find that it never takes the 10 minutes the recipe says it should take for the dumplings to be done -- it's always a minimum of 20 minutes, often more. But that's OK, it's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was very good I didnt use bacon strips I used crumbled bacon instead and chicken broth instead of veg broth it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States