Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is my first time making chicken and dumplings and I will definitely be making it again - fairly easy (the hardest part was cooking/shredding the chicken) and delicious. I also made my own dumplings from Bisquick which was just as easy as buying them and probably much healthier. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe spot on but my differences were I used cream of mushroom/garlic soup and unfortunately I didn't have the bacon to sprinkle on the top. Soup was awesome, I recommend trying it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was so good & it was filling! I too used Rotisserie Chicken just to save myself some time- and my husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was awesome! I was looking for something similar to what my mom makes and this was pretty close. I used a rotisserie chicken instead of the chicken thighs, chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth and 2% milk instead of cream. Other than that I followed the recipe pretty close. My 4 year old loved this! Thanks for the great recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Turned out very good & easy instructions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe - I just made a few changes to make it healthier. Also, I halved this recipe as there are only 2 of us. I baked boneless chicken thighs in the oven instead of browning them in butter. I used 2 carrots, 1 onion, and 2 cloves of garlic. I omitted the heavy cream and used skim milk. I omitted the corn and added thyme to the veggies while they sauteed. I used only 8 oz of cream of chicken and I used the whole can of biscuits. It was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Sunday, December 20, 2009 The east coast was pounded with snow this weekend before Christmas, (in some areas 19+ inches). I live on more than 2 acres of land and there was much to be done starting at 05:00 a.m. after the snow stopped falling, I had to prep and cook 3 meals at the same time (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) as I and the whole neighborhood spent the best part of the day digging out. This recipe was, and is a life saver…if you have crock pot USE IT! Everything goes into the pot holding out for the package biscuits for last 20 minutes before serving. A single bowl and a spoon is all that is needed when eating, and I guarantee after a days work like the one we had here; the silence of the evening and the warmth of the fire are desert enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic dinner. My kids loved it! Only things I did differently was after cooking the bacon, I drained off most of the grease and browned my chicken in that instead of breaking out the butter. Also, I had no Paprika in the house, so that was omitted as a result. Great balance of taste and texture. Very flavorful and filling! Perfect 'Comfort Food' for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My family loved this! As much as the dumplings were so so easy...I think I'd make my own next time...I just don't like using pre packaged...but I'll tell you, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this recipe and it disappeared in a flash. Easy and very very good. I highly recommend it, it is a very forgiving recipe, you can change things and still get a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States