Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe - I just made a few changes to make it healthier. Also, I halved this recipe as there are only 2 of us. I baked boneless chicken thighs in the oven instead of browning them in butter. I used 2 carrots, 1 onion, and 2 cloves of garlic. I omitted the heavy cream and used skim milk. I omitted the corn and added thyme to the veggies while they sauteed. I used only 8 oz of cream of chicken and I used the whole can of biscuits. It was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Sunday, December 20, 2009 The east coast was pounded with snow this weekend before Christmas, (in some areas 19+ inches). I live on more than 2 acres of land and there was much to be done starting at 05:00 a.m. after the snow stopped falling, I had to prep and cook 3 meals at the same time (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) as I and the whole neighborhood spent the best part of the day digging out. This recipe was, and is a life saver…if you have crock pot USE IT! Everything goes into the pot holding out for the package biscuits for last 20 minutes before serving. A single bowl and a spoon is all that is needed when eating, and I guarantee after a days work like the one we had here; the silence of the evening and the warmth of the fire are desert enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fantastic dinner. My kids loved it! Only things I did differently was after cooking the bacon, I drained off most of the grease and browned my chicken in that instead of breaking out the butter. Also, I had no Paprika in the house, so that was omitted as a result. Great balance of taste and texture. Very flavorful and filling! Perfect 'Comfort Food' for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My family loved this! As much as the dumplings were so so easy...I think I'd make my own next time...I just don't like using pre packaged...but I'll tell you, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this recipe and it disappeared in a flash. Easy and very very good. I highly recommend it, it is a very forgiving recipe, you can change things and still get a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I liked this recipe, but my husband thought it was a bit on the bland side. Maybe next time, I'll use chicken stock instead of veggie broth. I didn't use the refrigerated biscuits to make the dumplings. Instead, I opted to use Bisquick. I was also short on time, so I just cut the chicken prior to cooking, so it was in bite sized chunks, instead of shredding or pulling it apart after cooking. My kids are very picky eaters and it was kind of split between them liking it. Overall, I would definitely make it again, but try to give it a bit more flavor next time (for my husband).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used this as a guide to make my own version. I didn't have some of the ingredients so this is what I did. I did not use bacon or the dumplings. I served whole wheat dinner rolls instead. I didn't have corn so I used up the remaining frozen mixed veggies I had in the freezer. I didn't have cream soup so I used a 14oz can of light coconut milk instead of the cream soup or the heavy cream. Added smoked paprika and thyme and pepper. It was delicious!!! My kids ate it without complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was by far the BEST chicken and dumplings I've had. Alot of the recipes on here includes no veggies in them and this one does! I boiled the thighs for 30 min instead of browning them. I also used chicken broth since that's what I had on hand and made the dumplings with bisquick instead of using canned biscuits. My husband and son kept saying how yummy it was. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My 16 year old enjoyed this and asked for it again. Really tasty, easy and comforting!! Great family recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a really good recipe! I remember my mother making this growing up, but she didnt use fresh veggies (I prefer fresh veggies). This made me feel so warm inside on a cold NY winter day! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States