Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I really like this recipe, the first time I made it the dumplings were gooey, but the trick is you have to cook it longer until the dumplings are well formed to get a nice solid dumpling, my family loves this recipe. If you get the butter favored pills bury biscuits it has a nice buttery flavory making it extra tasty. I also add a little celery salt, dried onion and garlic to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe but the dumplings were kind of gloppy somehow. This seems like a pretty basic recipe and over all the stew tasted good as I love just about anything with dark meat in it. It was very flavorful, but I thought that it tasted best right after cooking. It did not taste as good as leftovers. My toddler did not like it and my husband passed on it as well. I probably will not make this again due to lukewarm reception by family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
made it tonight, modified few things: 1. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken soup 2. Didn't have corn but I add mushroom 3. instead of buttermilk biscuits, I made dumplings (some sort of bread dough, a recipe from Newfoundland) I put the skinless chicken in a boiling water to clean it from any fat, put them on a baking dish, arranged the raw dumplings, pour cream sauce over, cover it with foil and then bake it at 375 for at least 1 hr. The result is amazing. I never made dumplings but with this stew, even my Newfoundlander boyfriend thought I'm a pro making newfoundland dish! Awesome! Thank you for sharing so I could have an idea for dinner although I wasn't in a mood for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Worth the extra time it took for preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved this! Sauteed the chicken thighs in butter, olive oil to brown. Added 3 carrots, 3 large stalks celery, one small green bell pepper, 2 cloves garlic and 1/3 large white onion plus thyme. Then I added about a cup of chicken broth, 1 reg sized can healthy cream of chicken soup and about a half soup can of fat free half and half. Simmered for about an hour then used Bisquick for the dumplings. This turned out amazing! The green bell pepper really set it off and added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Austin-Mauldin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolly Mogensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is probably my favorite recipe on this site. If I could give it an extra star I would. It's true comfort food. I didn't change anything about the recipe. It's perfect. I can't make it that often though because I know it's not good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This had a strange taste, perhaps because of the paprika and/or vegetable stock. Next time I try it, I'll use just chicken stock and no paprika. It was otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it, i have tried different cuts of chicken and each time it came out awsome, i have to use lactose free milk and they really didn't know the difference in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe family loved it!! I followed as stated and we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bender-Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States