Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Added a few more veggies, and used pancake mix but other than that followed the recipe and it turned out great! We loved it. It did take 20 min to cook the dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I browned in a wide Dutch oven with a bit of butter, then let them rest/cool/chop while I cooked 4 slices thick bacon, then took them out to cool/chop while cooking the veggie mixture in the drippings. I found this an easier way for a one pot meal. I misread and just added the bacon and chicken in together, and it tasted pretty good this way. I used cream of celery soup and salt free chicken broth. Grocery store was out of biscuits so I used Bisquick for dumplings (2 cups bisquick 2/3 cup milk) and simmered them covered on top of stew for 15 minutes. I like the wide Dutch oven for this because there is more surface area for the dumplings to steam. I also added a bit of dried herbs (bay leaf, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder,sage, poultry seasoning). I will make again without bacon and maybe add some peas. Great comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I really like this recipe, the first time I made it the dumplings were gooey, but the trick is you have to cook it longer until the dumplings are well formed to get a nice solid dumpling, my family loves this recipe. If you get the butter favored pills bury biscuits it has a nice buttery flavory making it extra tasty. I also add a little celery salt, dried onion and garlic to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe but the dumplings were kind of gloppy somehow. This seems like a pretty basic recipe and over all the stew tasted good as I love just about anything with dark meat in it. It was very flavorful, but I thought that it tasted best right after cooking. It did not taste as good as leftovers. My toddler did not like it and my husband passed on it as well. I probably will not make this again due to lukewarm reception by family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
made it tonight, modified few things: 1. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken soup 2. Didn't have corn but I add mushroom 3. instead of buttermilk biscuits, I made dumplings (some sort of bread dough, a recipe from Newfoundland) I put the skinless chicken in a boiling water to clean it from any fat, put them on a baking dish, arranged the raw dumplings, pour cream sauce over, cover it with foil and then bake it at 375 for at least 1 hr. The result is amazing. I never made dumplings but with this stew, even my Newfoundlander boyfriend thought I'm a pro making newfoundland dish! Awesome! Thank you for sharing so I could have an idea for dinner although I wasn't in a mood for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Worth the extra time it took for preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved this! Sauteed the chicken thighs in butter, olive oil to brown. Added 3 carrots, 3 large stalks celery, one small green bell pepper, 2 cloves garlic and 1/3 large white onion plus thyme. Then I added about a cup of chicken broth, 1 reg sized can healthy cream of chicken soup and about a half soup can of fat free half and half. Simmered for about an hour then used Bisquick for the dumplings. This turned out amazing! The green bell pepper really set it off and added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is probably my favorite recipe on this site. If I could give it an extra star I would. It's true comfort food. I didn't change anything about the recipe. It's perfect. I can't make it that often though because I know it's not good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This had a strange taste, perhaps because of the paprika and/or vegetable stock. Next time I try it, I'll use just chicken stock and no paprika. It was otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States