Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
made it tonight, modified few things: 1. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken soup 2. Didn't have corn but I add mushroom 3. instead of buttermilk biscuits, I made dumplings (some sort of bread dough, a recipe from Newfoundland) I put the skinless chicken in a boiling water to clean it from any fat, put them on a baking dish, arranged the raw dumplings, pour cream sauce over, cover it with foil and then bake it at 375 for at least 1 hr. The result is amazing. I never made dumplings but with this stew, even my Newfoundlander boyfriend thought I'm a pro making newfoundland dish! Awesome! Thank you for sharing so I could have an idea for dinner although I wasn't in a mood for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Worth the extra time it took for preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved this! Sauteed the chicken thighs in butter, olive oil to brown. Added 3 carrots, 3 large stalks celery, one small green bell pepper, 2 cloves garlic and 1/3 large white onion plus thyme. Then I added about a cup of chicken broth, 1 reg sized can healthy cream of chicken soup and about a half soup can of fat free half and half. Simmered for about an hour then used Bisquick for the dumplings. This turned out amazing! The green bell pepper really set it off and added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This had a strange taste, perhaps because of the paprika and/or vegetable stock. Next time I try it, I'll use just chicken stock and no paprika. It was otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it, i have tried different cuts of chicken and each time it came out awsome, i have to use lactose free milk and they really didn't know the difference in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe family loved it!! I followed as stated and we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made according to directions except used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, and less onion. Family loved it, but next time I would leave out the crumbled bacon as we didn't like the texture of it with the soup (and we love bacon!). The bacon drippings were a nice element though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a Prime time Meal to do when its been storming all day and your coming off a long day at the office. Great recipe; stick to your ribs, and honestly would be the right type of thing taken over the top if served in a Bread Bowl. I give it a solid 7 out of 10; next time I am going to tweek it by adding a touch of Tabasco for heat and to punch it up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Very easy to make and very delicious. It had so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States