Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe turned out very well, with a few changes. I used twice the amount of mushrooms (Crimini) and sauteed with 6 cloves of garlic. I sauteed the chicken only with salt and pepper. Deglazed the pan with 1 cup white wine and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Added the mushrooms and garlic back into the pan with 1 tsp. dried Rosemary, parsley, and a touch each of thyme and red chili flakes.I used grape tomatoes, and no olives. This dish was great served over pasta. Thanks, senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I changed this recipe a bit so hopefully no one will accuse me that I made it a completely different recipe, but I felt that it may make it better. I dipped the thigs in flower then egg then breadcrumbs as many other recipes call for and then followed as specified. I cooked this in wine/ vermouth mixture. Tend to use vermouth more than traditional white wine b/c it has a crispier flavor. The breadcrumbs made it absorb the liquid quickly so unfortunately I kept having to add more wine and was required flip chicken over a lot so it would not stick. However, after doing so I thought it came out great and BF liked it as well so I was happy. The wine taste was really nice not over bearing. I used pitted olives and overall I didn't have any complaints, the flavors of the olives, mushrooms, wine, and tomatos really did make this worth while and would definitely try this combination of flavors again. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I am giving this a five even though I changed it a bit. I followed it using bone in chk. theighs, but added Italain sausage. I left out red pepper since fiance doesn't like it and used dried Italian seasoning. (Even though I prefer using fresh) I added about 1/4 more wine. I used a $3 bottle of Mathew Fox, which came out great. I was in the mood for mashed potatoes so I reduced the sauce at the end with corn starch and water. (If you do this, plan to increase the sauce to ab. triple) I used the gravey to cover the chicken and sausage and of course mashed potatoes. I had no tomatoes and do not like olives so I left them out. Anyhow, it had such a wonderful flavor. Now I can make two diiferent meals, one with comforting gravey and one with an elegant wine sauce over pasta. I sugest yo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I was worried I was going to have a disaster on my hands! My Fricassee was simmering on the stove (smelling fantastic, by the way!) when the phone rang. Needed to tend to an emergency. I put the "not quite cooked" chicken in the refrigerator and off I went. Didn't return until well after midnight. Not in the mood to cook at that hour. Well, last night (sans emergencies) I put the dish back on the stove, brought it to a simmer, added the tomatoes and olives, and cooked it about 10 minutes more. It was perfect! Delicious! Served it over egg noodles. The only thing I did different was to add a few more mushrooms. Gracias, Senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was delicious!!! Even the leftovers were great! Some slight changes due to what I had on hand. I used bone in, skin off thighs, dried rosemary (1 TBL), no red pepper (little kids) and a regular chopped tomato. I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe. I have made it twice. My advice is to use a decent bottle of wine, $8-$12, it is a huge factor in the overall flavor of the dish. My favorite has been Manta, a Chilean sauvignon blanc. There should be very little liquid left if this is prepared correctly. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Excellent dish!!! We made this minus the olives and used dried rosemary, all else remained consistant with instructions. My wife is not a fan of dark meat, but absolutely loved this dish. We will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
SUPER! I used boneless thighs. I did'nt have fresh rosemary, so used dried and sprinkled generously over chicken before browning. My husband said he'd "owe me" for such a great meal. I'll be thinking and thanking you tonight Senorita Pupnstuff!!!!! Leah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was good. I didn't have the tomatoes or olives on hand, so I didn't use them. The only other problem that I had was the dish was very salty. I will use again, but tinker with it a bit. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Great recipe, I cut down the olive oil by two tbsp and used skinless thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States