Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Excellent dish!!! We made this minus the olives and used dried rosemary, all else remained consistant with instructions. My wife is not a fan of dark meat, but absolutely loved this dish. We will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I think it'd taste better if you soak the chicken in the white wine for an hour ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I've cooked this recipe several times (sans olives) and it's a great one pot dish. Works well with both thighs and drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
As others, I modified the original recipe. Since I was using canned mushrooms I browned the thighs first in a big cast iron skillet, set aside, and added garilc and fresh rosemary, sage, and basil to the skillet. Over a low fire of course so as not to burn the garlic. I deglased the pan with the wine to get all those yummy bits up and into the sauce, then added the mushrooms, liquid and all. Tossed in a can of diced tomatoes, left out the olives...yuck...covered and simmered as directed. Served over brown rice. The hubby asked me to make it again, so it must be good. The only addition I would make is to be sure you have a splatter screen to protect you from all the oil splatters when browning the chicken. (Aids in cleaning the stove too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband loved it, and he's not a big chicken fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. The first time I made it because I didn't have much else in the pantry. I threw in some zucchini and canned potatoes with the tomatoes at the end and made it a one skillet dish. Big hit! Now I make it about twice a month... everyone loves it! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I left out the olives as I had none. Also I diluted 1/2 white wine and 1/2 water with a bit of cornstarch to get a bit of a sauce with some thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Wow! I made this today for my husband and my mother. I marinated the bone in skinless chicken with the rosemary, garlic, mixed dried hot pepper flakes (from our garden) and 1\4 cup wine for two hours before browning it, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was excellent, the meat very tender and not greasy. I served this with a small Pepperidge Farms frozen sourdough loaf, asparigus and a taboolie salad. ( I thought the mirroring of the olives and tomatos pulled the meal together)We also enjoyed the remander of the bottle of pinot grigio I used in the recipe. My family and I highly recomend this meal and the house smelled wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
YUM. Love this. The only thing I did different was to slice the olives and tomatoes so that I could have a bit with each bite and add maybe a teaspoon of fresh thyme that I had in an herb pot. I used boneless/skinless thighs and they are fall apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This turned out very well. I did not have any fresh Rosemary so I used some dried from my spice rack. I also did not have any cherry tomatoes so I just cut up some roma tomatoes and threw them in there. I also did not have the Nicoise olives and would have forgot to put them in anyway as I didn't even notice them on the recipe until after I'd made the dinner! Very simple dinner to make if you follow the recipe directions. I usually do not eat chicken thighs but was getting tired of eating the chicken breasts all the time and decided to try thighs out for once, and this was definately a good recipe to spice them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States