Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Great recipe! Used Kalamata olives instead of Nicoise, mushroom caps instead of sliced mushrooms for a more chunky look, and added 1/2 cup of flour to thicken the gravy while it was simmering. Served over mashed potatoes with a dollup of sour cream (or creme fraishe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
THIS WAS AN EASY DISH THAT CAME OUT FABULOUS. I MADE THE RECIPE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN. CHICKEN WAS MOIST AND FALLIN OFF THE BONE WITH PLENTY OF JUICE IN THE PAN. FAMILY LOVE IT. I WILL BE MAKING IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Couldn't find nicoise olives, so I slice up some kalamatas. I will definitely make this dish again. I used a little more mushrooms than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We really enjoyed this one. I had to make just a couple of substitutions. I used a Tuscan Herb seasoning because I didn't have rosemary, and I actually used regular green olives. And I'm pretty sure I at least doubled the mushrooms. The chicken was so tender, and everything really blended well. Even my ten year old son loved it and asked that I make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was very good. I really enjoyed the tomatoes and olives in it. My children LOVED it!!!! They said "mom, can you make this all of the time". I can't say that I "loved" it. It just did not give me that WOW factor. Don't know that I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoisonIvy250
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The flavor was good, but the chicken thighs shrank up really small. I also used dried rosemary instead of fresh and it was like eating twigs. I might give this recipe a 2nd try with bigger thighs or breasts and either leave the rosemary out or use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Tasty and yummy! I skipped the olives (not a fan) and used grape tomatoes rather than cherry, but otherwise followed the recipe almost exactly. I did double it, and I'm grateful I did, because the leftovers have also been numtastic! At the end, I removed the chicken to a covered plate and boiled down the sauce for about five minutes, to thicken and concentrate the flavor. Fantastic! I served it with roasted vegetables (tossed in olive oil with kosher salt, garlic and fresh rosemary) and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was so delicious I've made it twice and it has a permanent home in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe is a good foundation, and for that I give it five stars. I was short on supplies and used chicken broth for the wine and skipped the olives and tomatoes. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed this dish (even though I went overboard with the red pepper flakes -- eek!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fabulous!!! Increased the mushrooms and garlic...then served the chopped tomatoes and olives on the side. Extremely tender and flavorful! Deserves more than just 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States