Chicken Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I'm nearly through with internet recipes! I chose this recipe for its simplicity and reviews. I used 3 large breasts because of the 1 hour cook time and stuffed as advertised with the addition of sautéed finely chopped mushrooms, red bell pepper and onion. I completely wrapped with bacon, I mean if your going to wrap it, wrap it good! I placed them in large casserole dish and wrapped tightly with foil ad patiently waited for what would appear to be a delicious meal. First observation, the bacon wasn't cooked all the way, it was limp and not appealing. One of the reviews a read said she browned the bacon a bit before wrapping, that's probably a great idea if you want your bacon to be brown and crispy like it should be. Not Good Second observation: All the cheese had melted and drained out into the dish with the other juice's. Not Good First taste and impression, dry dry dry! One hour is to long to cook a stuffed breast, 35 minutes is fine if you remove the cover and broil 5-10 minutes before its done to crisp the bacon for a total time of 45 minutes. Just a thought before you take off and cook for an hour. I gave it 2 stars for ease of putting it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Head Chef & Bottle Washer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
this was so awesome! enough to make it again a couple days later.. cut the recipe in half and used the suggestion of making pico de gallo instead of layering the jalapeno and tomato.. used a little less cheese.. pounded the chicken with a mallet like others.. ty so much for this simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Great taste. Quick and easy to fix. May need to cook a little longer. Definitely precook bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
soooo good. i didnt have ranch, so i used taco seasoning instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madam grizzle
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I baked this the full hour, but never covered it, the bacon came out crispy without broiling, like others suggested. The chicken was moist, but the breasts were HUGE, like 12 to 16 ounces each. Very yummy. Being in the restaurant business for 20 years, I knew the bacon would be soggy if baked with a cover. Nice, simple recipe. thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this recipe! Very tasty blend of flavors! Followed some of the other reviewers advice and uncovered, drained bacon grease and then broiled for 5 mins to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTAPIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
AWESOME!!! My family loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is easy and so good. My husband said this looks like something you would get at a restaurant. The only thing I did different was I made my own ranch seasoning. This was delicious and a great things to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed the flavor profile of this recipe. It was also super-simple to put together. However, leaving these in the oven for the time states made my chicken BONE dry. I will try these again, but I'll be sure to start checking for doneness at least 15 minutes earlier than the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States