Chicken Tetrazzini IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We really liked this dish. I like that it doesn't use canned soup, I try to stay away from that due to the sodium content. I did use fresh mushrooms and sauteed them first with some chopped onion. Very good flavor in this dish. I only had the cooking sherry that you buy in the grocery store, so I added another tablespoon of that to give it more of the sherry taste. Also used half and half instead of heavy cream just to cut down on calories and fat and that worked fine. My husband loves this dish and requests it often. We do top it off with some more grated Parmesan once it's on the plate. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was great! I made it vegetarian by omitting the chicken and adding diced celery and extra fresh mushrooms (and I used veggie broth). I also added two garlic cloves and doubled the sherry. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Easy recipe. I had to add spices to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I have made this a few times and tonight I made it with whole wheat flour & I have to say that I think it is the best one yet! I won't buy white flour anymore so I didn't have a choice & truly wasn't sure how it would turn out with the wheat flour-I was just nervous about that. But WOW I highly recommend it! Now to find a healthy substitute for the butter and the cream... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSY27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was delicious, with a few minor changes. I substituted Almond milk for the heavy cream to make it a bit lighter. I also used fresh mushrooms and omitted the sherry. I was concerned that it would be kind of bland, but the pepper and parmesan flavor it nicely, without it being too strong. I'll probably make this again, possibly using rotisserie chicken for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Love this!! Like others I increased the chicken broth, and added the cheese to the sauce. I also sauteed fresh mushrooms and used evaporated milk instead of cream. I loved the original recipe, don't misunderstand!! Just trying to avoid the extra sodium and fat, and I have one non-cheese lover (who doesn't know it's in there unless it's on top)! I used a rotisserie chicken from the store -- what amazing flavor!! Will make again for sure!! Served with peas and garlic breadsticks. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I followed the advice of others and used fresh baby bella mushrooms, sauteed with garlic, onion, and red bell pepper and I still think this is no great shakes. I ended up adding chopped ham and romano cheese to give it a lift. I should have known it would be very bland but had the ingredients and couldn't resist. I can't give it more than 2 stars with all the doctoring up it needs just to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Family loved this, but it only got 4 stars because if you make exactly as the recipe is written it can be a bit dry. You need to double the sauce-also helps if you saute some onions and garlic with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was extremely tasty. The changes that I made were as follows. I used white pepper in place of black, I used fresh sliced shiitake mushrooms (only because I had them on hand) and I added some diced celery, I also used chicken thighs only which I sauteed in some olive oil with salt & pepper. My entire family loved this and they kept refilling their plates until there was nothing left. My son suggested next time I try adding some buttered bread crumbs on top. So we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just made this tonight and it was yummy! To make it a little healthier, I used whole wheat fettucini, evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, and added broccoli and diced tomatoes as suggested. I also used wine because I don't keep sherry on hand. Its a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States