Chicken Tetrazzini I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This recipe is great - with some major modification. I cannot imagine using two cans of soup. I ommitted one can, only used 12 oz. of light sour cream and the consistancy was perfect. I also added 1/4 cup sherry to the butter when cooking the mushrooms. This flavor masks the canned soup quality and lends more of a from scratch feel to the recipe. Before baking I added 1 1/2 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs to the top. This creates more of a casserole quality to the dish which we liked. Would probably be very good without it as well. I also liked the suggestion of adding frozen peas. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I loved this recipe but I made a few changes. I seasoned the whole chicken breasts to my taste (salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder) and seared them on a large skillet until browned, but not cooked through. I removed the chicken and set it aside, and cut it into pieces. I deglazed the pan with a little juice from the mushrooms, and then added 2 TBSP butter and sauted the mushrooms. I then added the chicken pieces back to the skillet. While the pasta was draining, I used the hot pot in which I cooked the pasta to combine 1 can of mushroom soup, 1 can of chicken soup and 8 oz. of sour cream, then I added the pasta back to the pot. I combined this mixture into the chicken and mushrooms, and then put everything in my 2 qt. casserole dish (it almost didn't fit, and had to watch it so it did not boil over). I topped it with the cheese (maybe 1/4 cup) and served it with EZ Drop Biscuits from this site. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURIE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is one of the best casserole type recipes I've tried at allrecipes. It is so creamy and delicious, your family and friends will think you stole the recipe from a famous Italian restaurant's vault. It's mind boggeling that such simple ingredients result in such a fantastic taste explosion. I used what I had on hand: 1) substituted shrimp for chicken; I had 24 ounces of cooked shrimp ... I cut the tails off and sauteed just like I would have the chicken, 2) I used fresh parmesan cheese, which I grated myself ... it lended a rustic appearance and much enhanced flavor, 3) diced some leftover roasted red peppers into pimento sized pieces, 4) only had one cup of low-fat sour cream, so I added 1 cup of mayo. With these imposed changes, I saved a trip to the store and still enjoyed the recipe to the max! Some high quality bread and butter topped off this all-star lunch. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This recipe was very good. It may have been just a bit too creamy, so next time I might use about 12 oz. of sour cream instead. Otherwise, very yummy...all the leftovers were eaten up (and it actually tasted even better the next day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSTEPH79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This is an old time favorite during my childhood growing up. We loved this recipe. It was my moms recipe and since she passed away when I was in high school I had no idea how to make it. Now that I am a mother myself, I wanted to bring back some good ol' childhood memories so I decided to check on here, and this is it exactly!!! We love this recipe, it's sooooo good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This recipe was great; thick and creamy. I used canned chicken meat which cut down on the prep. time. I also melted some butter, mixed in some italian seasoned bread crumbs, and made a crumb topping which I added before I baked the casserole. This is a great time saver and budget stretcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
great family meal, quick and easy I used diced onions and fresh mushrooms, and substituted cream of celery and cream of broccili for the cream of chicken. very tasty.. kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was looking for something mild to make for dinner tonight and this was recommended to me on the recipe buzz. I was surprised that it was rather quite good, as I don't normally care for too many canned ingredients. I had reduced fat sour cream and only 1/2 the amount suggested and it worked perfect! I actually don't like too much sour cream in a casserole anyway, because it tends to mask the other flavors. For the butter I used half regular butter and half of a heart healthy spread. It was what I had in the house. This was creamy and delicious, no complaints! I did take it out of the oven in 25 minutes, as I used 1/2 the sour cream, and didn't want it to dry out. I will make again when I want a quick comforting dish, especially during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
The sauce was too thick and rich for me. No distinct flavor. I thought I was eating spaghetti with thick cream of chicken soup on top. Not a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is one of the best I've tried recently. My husband said "it's a keeper" and my 5 year old asked for seconds. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States