Chicken Teriyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
It smells great. I used crushed pineapple. The taste is amazing. Lola(grandma) never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
When I saw over 2 cups of soy sauce in this recipe, I thought it may be too much. So I reduced it to 3/4 cup. It was still incredibly salty (and I like salt). I must have put in over a cup of sugar plus some brown sugar to cut the salt and it was still too salty. I couldn't eat it. My husband, being the gentleman he is, ate two drumsticks, but it was only the 2nd time in 5 years that he didn't compliment my meal. Warning: If the soy sauce measurement is not a typo, then do not use this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Anne Roberts

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was a nice easy recipe for weekday meals that I'll use again. My husband, who is pretty picky, loved this recipe. As other reviewers have commented, the original recipe is on the salty side. I used low sodium soy sauce and omitted the rest of the salt from the recipe. This recipe works well for bone-in chicken breasts too. During the last 10 mins of cooking I threw half of a green pepper and half of a red pepper cubed into the pan. This made it a complete meal when served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Let me start by saying I don't even like Teriyaki, I tried this because the hubby and son love it. I have made this like 10 times already and its fantastic. I use brown sugar instead of white, I also use low sodium soy sauce, and use all of the pineapple juice. The sauce is flavorful enough that I don't salt the chicken. The first time I made this my 2 yr old ate 8 drumsticks, poor daddy only got 2. Even my nephew who just flat out hates eating likes this. The only con is that I end up eating too much. Oh and sometimes I don't have real ginger so I use ground ginger and the soy sauce bottle only contains about 15 oz so I use that instead of the 18 required. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very tasty and the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The Best teriyaki sauce I have ever had! My husband is basically obsessed with it! I will never buy bottled sauce again. It's so easy and takes no time at all to make. I made a bunch of sauce one time so I can have it on hand. Works great for summer grilling. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I really wasn't impressed. I made exactly as directed and it was way too salty. Tasted more like soy sauce than teriyaki. If I make this again I will for sure change it up by cutting the soy sauce in half and using brown sugar rather than white sugar for a richer sweet taste and to help it thicken a little better as my sauce never really thickened as much as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a keeper! I took the advise of the others and also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup and used a low sodium soy sauce. I also threw in a bit of crushed red pepper and used all the pineapple juice. No fresh ginger on hand so 1 teaspoon of ground. I have 6 children so 6 chicken breasts went into the oven and I did not alter the sauce and had PLENTY!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Way too salty when made according to the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I did have to modify based on what I had in the house and considering the recommendations from previous review, but overall SOOOO GOOD!! I used only a cup of soy sauce. Due to lack of ingredients, used 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour instead of cornstarch, 1/2 tsp nutmeg mixed with 1/2 tsp of paparika instead of fresh ginger, and only a 8 oz can of sliced pineapples (cut into chunks) and 14 drumsticks. I did used a little season salt on the chicken before covering with sauce. Definitely making this again!!! And definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

This top-rated recipe for baked chicken thighs boasts a tangy, tasty marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States