Chicken Teriyaki - It's a Secret Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter. I dislike it when people change the ingredients and then rate their own version of the recipe. Having said that, it was way TOO MUCH soy sauce for the 3 adults in my family, and we found it to be very, very salty. BUT the good news is there is a flavor in that recipe that I like hidden beneath all that salt. So next time I will lessen that soy sauce, maybe to only 1/4 of a cup or less. This is a very easy recipe, and the chicken browns so beautifully and was very tender and moist. I did mine in a Rachel Ray grill pan indoors. It is worth another try, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I tweaked the recipe like others here said - added some brown sugar, minced garlic and powder ginger. Instead of the breasts, I used thighs. I then took the thighs out of the marinade and baked at 375 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
had chicken then looked for a recipe. had 4 boneless skinleee and did 1/4 c. of mayo. plus 2 tbls. of soy overnight. snow haulted grilling so baked @ 350 30 min. then added about 2 tbls. of honey tertiyaki w/sesame 30 more min.lazy cook here and hope you dont think im trying to mess up your recipe. nice day im gonna grill! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perky
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was very good. I had already cooked my chicken the night before so I just added it all to a skillet and let it simmer for a while. I also added in some brown sugar and about two pineapple slices that I had leftover in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
good base recipe. I added one packet of the Lipton's onion flavoring to the sauce before i marinated the chicken {marinated for 2 hours instead of the 30 minutes}; i liked it. Will definitely use this again, maybe adding some curry powder next time. Thanks for uploading this one ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Ok, I kind of cheated: I used Teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce. I added some cracked black pepper like another reviewer suggested. But overall, this is a recipe I would use again... when the hankering for grilled teriyaki chicken arose. Nothing to write home about in this incarnation of it, but with some heartfelt tweaking it might be one of those great cookout secret-weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is my first review and I had to do it on this recipe! I followed the advice of others and added some garlic powder, a bit of sugar, and then threw it into a skillet. It was delicious! I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow, I had a little trouble beleiving that the mayo would do any justice with the chicken. I was highly suprised with the results. I used chicken wings and added garlic, and cooked them on a BBQ grill. It was absolutely amazing how the flavor came through, and was also juicy. I will be adding this to my cookbook asap. My wife & I give it two thumbs up, well done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmurphy3028
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Amazing what the mayo does for this recipe. My family is anti-mayo and so it really IS a secret. However, it makes the best and juicy grilled chicken ever! I mix 1/2 soy and 1/2 teriyaki as a personal preference. Thank you so much for posting. I have passed the recipe on to many who are just as amazed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I thought this was pretty good and definitely resulted in moist chicken. I marinated the chicken breasts overnight and then cooked them on the Foreman grill. I did add some garlic powder to the mayo/soy sauce mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States