Chicken Tequila Fettuccini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe was lovely!! However, I have a few suggestions that might take it from great, to FANTASTIC!! 1) Boiling chicken often gives it a dry, less succulent, texture and flavor. I would suggest grilling the chicken in a pan, cutting it into cubes, and tossing it into the sauce once it has thickened. If time allows, you might like to marinade it in some lime juice, and maybe even a bit of tequila (along with the soy sauce). I found that I needed to add a little extra lime juice to the sauce... so definitely taste test before serving. If you like your food spicy, don't rely on the number of jalapenos given in the recipe to satisfy your craving for kick. Add more. If you're truly courageous... add some habanero... but that's only for the truly brave and daring!! Otherwise I loved the recipe, I just thought the chicken could be a little more moist and flavorful. Fantastic dish. My italian father is very picky about "creative pasta" dishes... and he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This recipe was very similar to and just as good as the Sammy's Woodfired Pizza and California Pizza Kitchen versions, which I love. My guests absolutely loved it and would not stop talking about it. CAVEAT: I personally would not have given this recipe 5 stars had I not read and heeded some of the advice of the reviews. First of all, I doubled the jalapenos and it was still not too hot --- just much more flavorful. I also put more lime and tequila in the chicken marinade. Very important: cooking the chicken in the method called for in this recipe yielded rubbery and overdone chicken. Next time I will cut my chicken into strips and broil or grill them. I will then throw them in at the end just to warm them up again. One aesthetic consideration, too, is that the chicken marinaded in soy sauce gave it a rather unappealing color. I would probably put the soy sauce in the sauce next time and not directly on the chicken. Another important consideration: don't cook onions and peppers until they are mushy or too limp. I was careful to get mine done enough while maintaining a little body to them, and that was key. This recipe definitely was more time intensive and probably not good for a week night. It is, however, a very special recipe and one you should try for your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this for friends who love to cook! We decided it was far too conservative and needed adjustments. Use 1 cup of tequila with the 3 cups chicken stock for a glaze reduction, reducing 4 cups down to 1.5 cups. Use 3-4 whole limes for the juice, add this to the garlic and jal. peppers and cilantro, which thickens and carmelizes the paste, and use olive oil instead of butter. Forget the soy sauce, not neccessary. In Step 4-Combine paste and chicken, cook thru, then add cream last so it doesnt break down, and mix. THEN, pour the reduction mix over the top, so that the flavors do not mix and are distinctive from one another. Otherwise flavors are okay, just could be so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Our favorite pasta recipe! We do double some of the ingredients: jalapeno, butter, stock, tequila, and lime juice...it makes more sauce and much more flavor. The extra jalapeno does NOT make it too spicy (and I am a WIMP!!). We also cook the pasta in chicken broth instead of water. :) YUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This dish tastes great! I have a couple of suggestions though: - Don't use the butter. The whiping cream is heavy and rich enough and the butter made it drip fat. Use a cooking spray instead. - Careful with the lime juice; it may sour the cream. Next time I will definitely leave eit out. Otherwise, enjoy this creative and tasteful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Found the cooking method to produce rubbery chicken, so back to the drawing board I went! 2nd time, I had leftover grilled chicken which I needed to use up and I doubled the cilantro, garlic, jalapeno pepper, stock, tequila, and lime juice which enriched the flavor. Folded in the grilled chicken as the last step and it has now joined the ranks of "favorites" in our household! Thank you Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Very similar to CPK. It took a little longer to prepare than I anticipated but it was worth the wait. I marinated chicken in balsamic vinegar instead of soy sauce and also went a little crazy with the peppers. I added one each of green, red, orange and yellow. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Well I made a mess with this recipe. After I started preparing it, I realized that my roomate drank the last of the tequila. I used beer instead, and it was still quite good. A wonderfully different meal to add a little kick to your kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
very good, like alfredo with a southwest kick... will make again but is rather rich! if it was more low fat i would give it a 5 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I know I'm in the minority here but this was sooo BLAND!!! I doubled the lime juice, cilantro, jalapeno and tequila and still sooo bland. Considering how much this cost to make, how time consuming it was and how many dirty dishes it made it was totally not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States