Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great taste and really easy. I cooked 3 chicken breast halves in the slow cooker on high for 4 hrs with just a bit of salsa. then removed and shredded the meat before mixing it with the salsa verde and just regular cheddar cheese because that is what I had. warmed the corn tortillas in the microwave wrapped in a moist paper towel so they wouldn't break (I did this 3-4 at a time) then rolled them up and fried them 3 at a time. Really wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I prepped the corn tortillas by frying them in a pan for five seconds on each side (just until the tortilla starts to bubble). This prevents them from tearing or breaking. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I used salsa verda & regular shredded cheddar cheese and a few dashes of franks hot sauce also froze the taquitos to deep fry as suggested by another reviewer.With salas & sour cream my husband & i ate these up on football sunday till gone-thanks for a great recipe as i have never made these before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Your supposed to warm the tortillas first on the stove untill the soft, then add the chicken mixture and fry, but I find it easier if you put them in the fridge for about 30 mins, I also use geeen enchillada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hansonfan83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I put the corn tortillas in hot oil (I use coconut oil) long enough to get soft enough to roll without falling to pieces, so about 2-3 seconds per side. Set aside until they are cool enough to handle, then fill, roll, and put them seam side down to fry. Didn't fall apart at all, and they were cooked closed. I didn't have any salsa, so I just did cheese and some garlic powder and onion powder and they were gone pretty quickly. I will try them with salsa next. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Easy recipe, a bit time consuming since I had to cook the chicken all day in the crock pot and then individually wrap each taquito but very good taste over all, I skipped the onion because I had cooked mine chicken with salsa, cumin, and garlic previously then added the green salsa verde, didn't have smoked cheese but used a Mexican shredded blend I had on hand, steamed the corn tortilla and used the flour paste as someone mentioned and didn't even need the toothpicks, no problems holding together before I placed them into the deep-fry basket. Due to the size of my deep fryer I could only do 2 at a time so it was a bit tedious, overall good flavor and nice crunch. I didn't have the peanut oil but vegetable worked just fine, be careful not to use an easy burning oil like olive they need to cook a good 5 minutes for that nice browned crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Halved the recipe and it still came out fine. Will try these in oven next time to make it healthier. May try beef in the next batch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Gave 3 stars because the flavor was great. The corn tortillas are NOT my friend. these things were hideous when done(my lack of talent when it comes to using the corn tortillas). I stopped halfway through and just heated the filling then wrapped in warm tortilla like a soft taco. Very tasty but really hard to use corn tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe several times, each a little different. I rate this a 4 instead of a 5 because the filling really needs seasoning. I rarely have green salsa on hand, so now, I instead add red salsa (usually homemade) until the chicken/cheese mix is just moist enough. I'll also use Bob's taco seasoning from this site to flavor it up. I broil these at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, flipping about halfway through. I warm up the corn tortillas before filling and securing with a toothpick. These partially come apart every time, regardless of white or yellow corn tortilla used, but they're still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These were fabulous! I've never cared much for jarred green salsa, so since tomatillos were on sale at the Mexican market, I made my own. I also couldn't find a smoked cheese blend, so I used reduced fat smoked gouda from Trader Joe's and some cheddar I brought back from England (they have the best cheese over there). I followed the advise of other reviewers and brushed the taquitos with oil and baked them. They were so very good. I served them with homemade quacamole (avocados were on sale too) and dinner was delicious! DH and I fought over the leftovers the next day. Thanks so much for the recipe, HeidiS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States