Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a very tasty dish. I don't usually like any sweetness in my main meal, but this was fine. My wife also liked it but the kids weren't as keen. The only changes made were: breast instead of thigh; tomato passata instead of paste. We needed about double the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rsquared1769
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It turned out very well. I skipped the ST step and placed frozen chicken breasts, and cubed eggplant directly into the slow cooker. This is the ST time I have ever eaten eggplant. Not sure if it adds a whole lot to the dish because it seemed somewhat flavorless. I also used frozen sliced carrots instead of fresh carrots. I would like to give this dish a 4.5/5 because it is pretty flawless, but not a mind blowing 5/5. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsquared1769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this dish without any ingredient modifications. This was delicious. My husband however thought it was just "ok". Three hours tops on high in our crockpot was long enough cooking time. Any longer and the carrots would have been mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious recipe! I ended up making double the broth, since it seemed a little thicker than I was hoping for. It turned out great when I did this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too strong in the spice department for my family. I'll try 1/2ing the spices next time because it did have a unique flavor we all enjoyed. I didn't like the fruits, and I added the eggplant at the end like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I fixed exactly as the recipe called, and it was a big hit with my entire family. This says alot since my husband is a french chef. I love it when I can find a tasty dish that also presents well. My husband is so much into the presentation of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent flavour ! Added a little Cayenne and some Morrocan spice and everyone loved it. They even liked the couscous which I hadn't made before but it went very well with this dish. Cooked it on high for 4 hours and that was definitely long enough. Next time I'll add the egg plant near the end as it of course turned to mush after 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was excellent. I made it exactly as written. The only thing I would do next time is increase the amount of couscous to 2 cups or substitute it for brown rice. Loved loved the flavors. Nice healthy one pot meal. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I modified as shelteredrose suggested and used butternut squash instead of eggplant. I only cooked it for 3 hrs on high, and that was plenty of time. My only complaint is that it was a tad too sweet for my taste as is (not sure if that might be the butternut squash?). I've had Moroccan cuisine before - nothing was ever this sweet. But it could just be that I've never had this dish. I ended up adding more lemon juice and salt near the end to cut back on the sweetness. Next time I may try with eggplant and see if that makes a difference, or a bit less fruit and/or cinnamon. Overall though, it was very good and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an easy recipe and was well-received by my gang. CHANGES (1) Used 12 chicken "tenders" instead of the thighs. (2) Peel eggplant. Bet sweet potatoes would work well in this dish. (3) Altho I used apricots, peaches would work well. (4) Raisins are a fine substitute for cranberries. (5) no salt + 3 large cloves garlic, minced, for garlic salt. (4) 1 T chili powder and 1 T cayenne for cumin and ground black pepper. (5) I'll use 1 T ginger next time. 1 t cinnamon was ok. (6) Didn't layer but did give it all a stir before putting lid on. (6) Used 2 onions (not a change but some have commented it's "too onion-y." Since everything cooks down and softens a lot, 2 onions are no too many. (7) I needed some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken (about 1/4 cup); flour not enough. Added right to crockpot; no need to empty into saucepan and heat on stove to make cornstarch thicken sauce. (8) Son preferred his over rice. Will definitely be making this one again. mb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States