Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I am always looking for slow cooker recipes that do not rely on canned soups, and if they have good flavor, even better!. This was quite good - we don't care for eggplant, so I substituted chunked sweet potatoes (actually, yams); I also cut the chicken into slightly larger pieces than the recipe called for. It needed more spice, for our tastes, so will increase those by about half next time I make it, and probably yield to my husband's wishes and add a smidge of powdered hot pepper to heat things up a bit!. Thanks for a very nice addition to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Sorry but my family barely did anything with it. Personally, I thought it was OK but was very disappointed. I hope others will try it and possibly do a custom version. As you know, if my family won't eat it, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was brilliant. Did a few things different. First, I used low-sodium chicken stock instead of broth. Next, I used five garlic cloves and one tsp of salt instead of garlic salt, and about two inches of fresh ginger, chopped up really good, instead of the ground ginger. Finally, I used peeled baby carrots out of the package instead of the large, thinly sliced carrots. Prep took about an hour. Cooked it for eight hours on low. The dish is involved, but is the best, most flavorful recipe used from AllRecipes.com so far. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This sounds better than it actually is, in my opinion. Truthfully, I found it to be on the bland side, even after adding a dash or two of cayenne to give it some zing. Something's missing that would make the dish score a hit with my palate, and I'm not interested enough to experiment with this dish to try and find out what the missing element could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was very tasty. I didn't have apricots, so used prunes instead. I didn't do anything with the chicken breasts or eggplant beforehand -- just put them in the crockpot uncooked like everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
sooooo good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Oh my goodness, this was incredible. I've made it two weeks in a row, which is unheard of in our house! I cut down on the chicken a bit, and added extra carrots. I bet you could even cut the chicken out completely and it would still be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the first time I have ever tried tagine and the first time I have used a slow cooker. Apart from adding a little paprika, slightly less cumin (as I sometimes find cumin a bit overpowering) and dropping the egg plant as recommended by others I followed the recipe to the letter. This was delicious, there is a just a slight sweetness from the fruit and the touch of tomato paste, along with the lemon juice and ginger gives a great balance of flavour, this has been added to my recipe book and will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morecambe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a very tasty dish. I don't usually like any sweetness in my main meal, but this was fine. My wife also liked it but the kids weren't as keen. The only changes made were: breast instead of thigh; tomato passata instead of paste. We needed about double the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rsquared1769
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It turned out very well. I skipped the ST step and placed frozen chicken breasts, and cubed eggplant directly into the slow cooker. This is the ST time I have ever eaten eggplant. Not sure if it adds a whole lot to the dish because it seemed somewhat flavorless. I also used frozen sliced carrots instead of fresh carrots. I would like to give this dish a 4.5/5 because it is pretty flawless, but not a mind blowing 5/5. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsquared1769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States