Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Good recipe, maybe next time I'll add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this turned out great - much more interesting than the the typical slow cooker recipes. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded it into big chunks at the end. The chicken was delicious, super moist. I left out the fruit and adjusted the sauce a little to my taste (more cumin, fresh ginger, etc.). It's a great base, I think it would be hard to mess up. (And trust me I know how to mess up a recipe.) I served with brown rice and thought the leftovers were even tastier since the flavors seemed to blend even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
We really liked this recipe, with some changes. My husband dislikes eggplant, so we cut it out and didn't miss it. We try to eat mostly vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth and exchanged a big garnet yam for the chicken. Delicious!! The yam made it for sure - coming across a nice soft bite of yam was like finding a treasure! I also forgot to get apricots and used golden raisins instead, which plumped up really nice. I would recommend increasing the volume of broth until the layers are covered, or the top dries out. Also, 1 cup of couscous is barely enough for two people, so double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
i am a beginner, so i followed the recipe almost exactly. (crock pot 6 hours low, fridge a couple hours, crock pot low 2 hours - maybe not a good idea.) it was ok. where was the exotic? i didnt taste it. consider breast meat as the sweetness of the dish maybe gets a bit much w dark meat? i think a little pepper flake for spice would have been a great move. dont skip the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roccie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WHOA! This was really a delicious recipe! I added a tsp more of flour, a tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley just because I had it and a tsp of dried lemongrass. I had NEVER cooked with eggplant (they scare me) but was glad I did. I also cup up a couple white sweet potatoes and will do so next time. Go for it. Don't OVERCOOK it though. I served mine over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
LOVED this! The smells were incredible when I got home from work. I did not precook the chicken. I didn't have apricots on hand but used cranberries and raisins. Also didn't have eggplant but put in mushrooms. Thickened up the sauce a little at the end with a roux. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Different flavors but good. The apricots and cranberries add a lot. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded them in the last 30 minutes. I used sweet potatoes instead of eggplant. Served over Couscous this is a different and good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very good but too sweet for my taste. Two onions seemed extreme. Really glad I only used one. Great with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did add some hot pepper flakes to add a bit of spice. I don't think I had enough onions or carrots, but the recipe turned out great. This is a definite repeat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was a nice dish, though the flavor can be a bit overwhelming--the dried fruit became very syrupy and mushy and the dish was more gooey than I expected, but the flavoring is exotic and goes really well with the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States