Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Of all the slow cookers, in all the towns, in all the world, this recipe was made in mine. I'm not sure how Moroccan this recipe really is (at least enough to rip off a Casablanca quote, apparently), but it's hardly worth researching once you taste it. I did fail to have on hand lemon juice, having used the last of it in some hummus a few days ago, so that part is missing. I'm guessing it would have helped to further balance the sweetness, which should have been easily predicted seeing the ingredient list. That being said, I personally like a little spice in these sorts of dishes, so I may just add some form of chile pepper, whether it be fresh or dried in my next preparation of this dish, which I believe will be much sooner than much later. Regardless of it's very few shortcomings, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship (couldn't help it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This tastes great and is healthy with all the fruits and vegetables. I added a first layer of chopped sweet potatoes. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the first time I had a "tagine" dish and I looked at a lot of other similar recipes on other sites before I settled on this one -- mostly because of the convenience of a slow cooker. It was delicious. I substituted golden raisins instead of cranberries, since a lot of other recipes use that instead. I will be adding this to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is delicious. The smells while cooking were incredible, and the flavor was just amazing! I could only give it four stars for two reasons. First, the chicked cooked down so much it practically disintegrated. It was hard to find the chicken amongst all the vegetables. Second, the onion, which we usually love in anything had a strange chewy texture. Hubby and I both pushed it aside. It might be better sauted first to carmelize and give it flavor and tenderness. Of course the risk would be disintegrating after cooking so long, but that might enhance the flavor. The flavors were mouth watering, so I'll try to adjust either bigger pieces of chicken, whole thighs or something that keeps the chicken from disappearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe was really good - far different from our normal dinner. We used all chicken breast and put them whole, frozen in the bottom of the crockpot. We cubed and browned the eggplant, but didn't add it to the crockpot until there was about 2 hours left in the crockpot. Other minor changes included adding 1/2 can of black beans (the cumin seemed to be calling for them), about 1 tsp paprika and a few shakes of hot sauce, as some of the other reviews said it needed to be spicier. It was very easy to make and it made enough for my husband and I to eat all week!! I knew it was a good dinner when my husband told me it was a great find on the website. I think we will make this for company next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a wonderful dish that will become a regular. The mixture of spices was perfect and I like things full of flavor! The only change I made to the spices was to add freshly grated ginger. Maybe that made the difference, maybe not but I would definitely do it the same again. I did put three frozen chicken breasts directly on the bottom of the crockpot, ommitting the beginning step, which made this even faster and easier. The chicken shredded perfectly after about four hours on high. Also, the added eggplant didn't seem to either be necessary or detract from this recipe. I'll add it again next time only if I have it on hand or it's on sale. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother. It kind of got lost in the dish and wasn't needed. Everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good...Nicely innovative for those of us with out the pricey Tagine pot. We hate eggplant at my house and since everyohne said it cooked down to nothing, I just didnt see a reason to add the slimey gook to the recipe. I used a large butternut squash instead--peeled, seeded and cut in one-inch cubes. It was probalby about 3-4 cups total. Everything else I kept the same. 5 Hours on high was way too long, as pretty much everything turned to mush, but the flavor was out of this world. The seasonings were spot on. Next time I will use real garlic, not garlic-salt, and will add less broth/liquid. It was on the wet side. I think I'll also try cooking this in my dutch oven in the oven as I think that it would benefit from some caramalization. Thank's for a tasty suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WHOA! This was really a delicious recipe! I added a tsp more of flour, a tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley just because I had it and a tsp of dried lemongrass. I had NEVER cooked with eggplant (they scare me) but was glad I did. I also cup up a couple white sweet potatoes and will do so next time. Go for it. Don't OVERCOOK it though. I served mine over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this turned out great - much more interesting than the the typical slow cooker recipes. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded it into big chunks at the end. The chicken was delicious, super moist. I left out the fruit and adjusted the sauce a little to my taste (more cumin, fresh ginger, etc.). It's a great base, I think it would be hard to mess up. (And trust me I know how to mess up a recipe.) I served with brown rice and thought the leftovers were even tastier since the flavors seemed to blend even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Have made this several times for company and for everyday....love it! Easy to adapt to different ingredients on hand...I always use chicken breasts and they come nice and moist also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States