Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This tastes great and is healthy with all the fruits and vegetables. I added a first layer of chopped sweet potatoes. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the first time I had a "tagine" dish and I looked at a lot of other similar recipes on other sites before I settled on this one -- mostly because of the convenience of a slow cooker. It was delicious. I substituted golden raisins instead of cranberries, since a lot of other recipes use that instead. I will be adding this to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Of all the slow cookers, in all the towns, in all the world, this recipe was made in mine. I'm not sure how Moroccan this recipe really is (at least enough to rip off a Casablanca quote, apparently), but it's hardly worth researching once you taste it. I did fail to have on hand lemon juice, having used the last of it in some hummus a few days ago, so that part is missing. I'm guessing it would have helped to further balance the sweetness, which should have been easily predicted seeing the ingredient list. That being said, I personally like a little spice in these sorts of dishes, so I may just add some form of chile pepper, whether it be fresh or dried in my next preparation of this dish, which I believe will be much sooner than much later. Regardless of it's very few shortcomings, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship (couldn't help it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Have made this several times for company and for everyday....love it! Easy to adapt to different ingredients on hand...I always use chicken breasts and they come nice and moist also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We loved it. We used brown basmatti rice because we did not have couscous. Garlic powder because we did not have garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This stuff is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarface_1693

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made this over the weekend and used 1/2 thighs and 1/2 breasts to cut down on the fat. I don't care for couscous so I added yams to the recipe to make it a bit heartier and it worked out great. I would make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a wonderful dish that will become a regular. The mixture of spices was perfect and I like things full of flavor! The only change I made to the spices was to add freshly grated ginger. Maybe that made the difference, maybe not but I would definitely do it the same again. I did put three frozen chicken breasts directly on the bottom of the crockpot, ommitting the beginning step, which made this even faster and easier. The chicken shredded perfectly after about four hours on high. Also, the added eggplant didn't seem to either be necessary or detract from this recipe. I'll add it again next time only if I have it on hand or it's on sale. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother. It kind of got lost in the dish and wasn't needed. Everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
excellent flavors, even used sweet potato instead of eggplant, will maybe try a little more cumin and red pepper next time for more zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I used chicken brest. It turned out fine. The taste is not as spicy as I would like it to be, but that is an easy fix. I had none leftover. Everyone coudnt wait to try it. Overall it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States