Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This dish is so flavorful and so much fun to prepare.Thank you KJones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My husband loves this recipe! We've made it several times and have not included the eggplant nor dried fruit. We've also used chicken breasts vs thighs . . . easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Interesting. My friends loved it...me not so much. But it was a concensus amongst us all that it needed more heat. Something to spice it up a bit. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Tasty. Not my usual style but I needed a recipe without tomatoes so I made this and just omitted the tomato paste. Made it later with the tomato paste and couldn't tell the difference. I might play a bit more with the spices if I make it again but overall it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a hit. I liked it a lot, but my husband flipped over it. And it made our house smell amazing =) I cut the recipe in half, but otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This recipe was fabulous. I cooked it in a large pan instead of the slow cooker, used chicken breasts instead of thighs (trying to save calories), and substituted dried peaches for the apricots. Because I was not using the slow cooker, I sprinkled all of the dry spices on the chicken and eggplant before browning them in the pan. I added the flour into the pan to cook out the raw-ness before adding the liquid and it thickened beautifully. Definitely a keeper, and the lemon juice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The flavors in this are really nice. Kind of mellow, but great. I made changes out of necessity, but am reviewing it anyway to share my experience. I made this on the stovetop instead of the crockpot because I had the luxury of being home (and didn't feel like washing two pots). After browning the chicken, I just threw in the onion to brown in the same pot, and then threw in the spices to toast a bit. After that, I dumped all the rest of the ingredients in. I left out the eggplant because we didn't have any and made up for it by adding more carrots, but I didn't change any of the spices. The smell in the house was just divine! I let it simmer until dinner (a few hours), but I was salivating the whole time. It tasted as great as it smelled. I served it with white jasmine rice, but I think basmati or couscous would have been a better choice. The hubby loved it -he commented on how great it smelled as soon as he walked in the door. and it was a hit with my 20 month old! She kept asking for more.... Great dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Lam-Himlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this for company and got great results. The flavors of this were wonderfully complex and satisfying. I did make some substitutions though. I didn't have chicken on hand, so used boneless pork chops. And I also didn't have any cranberries. Next time I make this I'll be sure to add the cranberries. The only reason it's not getting 5 stars is I tried the leftovers with a little sour cream and it really smoothed out the flavor combination. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good...Nicely innovative for those of us with out the pricey Tagine pot. We hate eggplant at my house and since everyohne said it cooked down to nothing, I just didnt see a reason to add the slimey gook to the recipe. I used a large butternut squash instead--peeled, seeded and cut in one-inch cubes. It was probalby about 3-4 cups total. Everything else I kept the same. 5 Hours on high was way too long, as pretty much everything turned to mush, but the flavor was out of this world. The seasonings were spot on. Next time I will use real garlic, not garlic-salt, and will add less broth/liquid. It was on the wet side. I think I'll also try cooking this in my dutch oven in the oven as I think that it would benefit from some caramalization. Thank's for a tasty suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Liked this recipe, we used bone-in breasts and added a little more tomato sauce and chicken broth, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLEE01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States